Windows 7 how can i know that PSU i am using is sufficient for my pc..

jasdeep

Hi all,
I am new at this..actually few months back i assembelled my pc on my own..my pc configration is:
graphic card:ATI radeon 5660
1 TB HD
8GB RAM
eXtreme Power Plus 460W (120mm fan) PSU.
Windows 7
i7 processor...
DVD writer
The problem i facing is now whenever i turn ON my pc...my room light starts fluctuating...
What does this mean???? Why it is happening after So many months...
When i listen at the back of PSU, while my pc turned ON... A very low clicking sound is coming..which i assume is the reason for this fluctuation...how can it be verify or corrected.

Google PSU calculators, that should give you an idea on the wattage needed.

If the lights in your room are flickering, you have too much connected into one power outlet. If the LED on your computer is flickering it is your hard drive.

Go to Start -> Search -> Resource Monitor to measure unusual OS activity.

For overvolt and power supply concerns, consider using the BIOS to examine the electrical current going into the system. Do not make manual adjustments unless it is to load fail safes. If you continue to be concerned about physical PSU issues, you would want a PSU Tester.

Generally speaking, the system will regulate the voltage to system specifications. The only time this will not happen is if you have a faulty PSU. Look for core voltage going to the CPU above 1.5V. This would generally be a sign of a misconfiguration in the BIOS or problem with the hardware.

If the system suddenly shuts down, your BIOS will usually have a PC Health Log indicating if the system lost control over DC power. If that happens, replace the PSU first. The PSU can be suspect because it is one of the most likely parts on the computer to be faulty. Don't jump to conclusions, however, and examine all options. Compare your motherboard and processor specifications with the BIOS read-out. Consult the motherboard manual for this information.