How do i get vista back?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by nbkp, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. nbkp

    nbkp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone now how i get Vista back without losing all my files?

    please reply soon, thanks
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well if you installed Windows 7 over Vista than you'll have to reinstall Vista over top of Win 7.. assuming you have a copy of Vista... ;) Perhaps you could provide us with a few more details in order for us to help you a little better.. like did you do a dual boot? Did you do a backup of all your personal files before you installed Windows 7? Things like that will help us all get a better idea of what exactly your situation is... ;)
     
  3. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    You can't install Vista over 7....
     
  4. nbkp

    nbkp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have no os installation disk. i havent backed up anything but i have a 500gb external hdd so i can if needed. and it replaced vista
     
  5. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    You need to get hold of an installation disk one way or another or your stuck with Win7 mate. It wouldve been a good idea to back up your files before you installed the beta but if you did the upgrade they will all still be there. Only thing is it sounds like you have no way of going back to Vista. Before you do anything else Id back up my files now
     
  6. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I ment as in do a clean install of Windows Vista over top of the Windows 7 installation that's already on his hard drive... I didn't mean do an upgrade... (obviously that can't be done) :rolleyes:
     
  7. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    You'd likely have to do a format in that case, as I've never seen an OS that will let you install it over a new OS, even as a 'clean' install.
     
  8. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    How can I explain it any clearer Kyle.. the act of formatting is implied when I say "clean install" as in format, then install the OS on an empty drive/parition... ;) I know you can't just install an older OS over top of a new OS without first formatting.. it's impossible... I wasn't saying that you could... :)
     
  9. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Lol I got you Radenight
     
  10. dmillergv

    dmillergv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    There should be a test before allowing someone to download and install a BETA OS.
     
  11. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    There was a statement where I downloaded my copy from that made it pretty clear about the risks and so forth of installing a beta. Also said you should be willing to troubleshoot your own problems as there will be no support from Microsoft...
     
  12. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Unfortunately there's ALOT of people that just don't ay attention to statements like this and assume that what their installing can be used as their main OS and will automatically just work with everything not taking into consideration that it's BETA software.. NOT finalized software... ;) But they did provide adequate warning to ensure people knew what they were getting into in my opinion.. it's just a shame that Microsoft gets the blame for people's ignorance....
     
  13. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    OK Stable doors and horses but learn for next time.

    ALWAYS but ALWAYS keep your private data (Music, Video, Pictures, scans, emails, Data base files, address books etc etc) separate from the OS. Always create a separate partition for each OS (you don't need more than a few GB per OS).

    That way if you lose the OS and have to restore it you don't lose any data.

    In any case BACK UP EVERYTHING and have at least 2 different backups (on different media if possible).

    I have a lot of clients photography / contracts / drawings -- so I always keep a copy OFF SITE as well .

    You can never have too much backup.

    Sod's law will work 100% every time --the one time you didn't backup a file is the one time you will need it.

    Cheers
    jimbo
     
    #13 jimbo45, Feb 11, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2009
  14. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108

    Very well put Jimbo45.. it IS always a good idea to have multiple backups of all your personal files!! One can never be too careful.. ;) This is something that too many people seem to ignore or simply put off until it's too late... I can't even count how many posts on here and on other forums that are filled with people screaming for help on how to get their files back or that they lost them all because of Windows 7.. etc.. For all the time it takes to back sh!t up.. really.. Personally I create backups every night simply because I download stuff 24/7.. ;) It's just one of those things that everyone should get in the habit of doing.. but I guess for some it may be easier said than done.....
     
  15. qbnito

    qbnito New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: getting vista back

    I don't know if this will work but if you upgraded from vistat to windows 7. Windows seven keeps a copy of your vista under C: windows\ it's called windows old. When you reboot your computer, you always get a choice of either windows 7 or prior windows.
    I'm not planning on uninstalling windows 7 untill it runs out so I haven't used that choice yet.
    All I can tell you is that it's there.
    Hope this helps somwhat.

    qbnito :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...