How do you set default to 'size all columns to fit' in Explore

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Pobinr, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Pobinr

    Pobinr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Any one know how to set 'size all columns to fit' as default in Windows 7 Explore ?
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you right click the title bar (Name-DateModified, etc) it gives you a "Size all Columns to fit". I don't know if this will make it default, but let us know.


    Another thing I learned is if you have columns that are too narrow for all the data, you can get a double arrow on the column divider and double click and it will expand to show the entire line. And this works in more than just Explorer.
     
  3. Pobinr

    Pobinr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks
    I was aware of the Size all cols to fit comand.
    It doesn't make it the default. Though why would anyone not always want columns to fit.
    Mind boggling stupidity of MS not to make that the default!
    I have other issues with Windows 7 explore I didn't have with XP explore.
    Are MS going backwards!
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Extremely mind boggling! MS were advised of this way back in the Vista Beta testting days, and, to date, have still not rectified it.
    I have worked out a poor compromise for it, which you could follow. Open a well populated folder and manually resixe the columns to your personal preference.. Open Tools - Folder Options - View, and click "Apply to all folders"
     
  5. Pobinr

    Pobinr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks. I'll try that.
    Glad I'm not the only one vexed by MS crap products. How long has Windows been around ?
    25 or 30 years & they still haven't got the basics right!!!!!!
    The search function in Windows 7 explore is pretty weird too!
    Preferred XP search.
    No wonder that switching to Mac is a one way trip!
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I have , what I think, is a good answer for that also. I uninstalled the search facility and installed "Everything" - works like magic!
     
    #6 davehc, Apr 22, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012
  7. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I'm another for removing Windows Search (removed at source using Win Toolkit, never to be seen again), though my search weapon of choice is Locate32.
     

Share This Page

Loading...