How many watts do I need...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by kemical, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  2. epk1950

    epk1950 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    9
    #2 epk1950, Sep 23, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  3. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    Very nice articles guys! :) Informative and very well written.. Good stuff!
     
  4. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36
    And just for a quick reference...

    In addition to the detailed information posted in this thread, there is a quick reference approximation of wattage requirements of various components in the TigerDirect Technology Guide linked below. While this guide is much less technical than some others, it shows an approximate range of power requirements for various PC components that will guide someone when deciding how large a power supply is needed for any given application.


    Technology Guide To Building Your Own PC
     
  5. epk1950

    epk1950 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yea, I'm having the darndest time, I can calculate the AC amperage my pc is digesting which is 2.5 amps ac from a Fluke TS-1000 multimeter, but I am trying to get my DC amps so I can multiply that with my 12v reading to calculate my wattage usage on idle and load, but my fluke 87 V multi meter & fluke 80i-1010 ac/dc amp clamp are being problematic!
     
  6. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36

    My level of electrical expertise is about as low as my level of computer expertise, but since your meter is reading RMS voltage and hence amperage; can you not just make a direct proportional relationship between AC and DC? Would it not work out that 2.5 amp AC on a 120 VAC circuit (300 watt) would convert to 25 amp DC on a 12 VDC circuit (again 300 watt)? Am I missing something?

    edit: Of course you have to figure the power loss through the transformer and rectifier, but that will be only a few percentage points. Also, it may be quite difficult to get power supply output wires separated enough that the current flow through a neighboring wire doesn't affect the wire you have your clamp around. I might not understand exactly what you are trying to do, either.
     
    #6 john3347, Sep 23, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...