How to fix Windows 7 Blue screen with ntoskrnl.exe and hal.dll?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Hallaj85, Nov 9, 2010.

  1. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have been getting the BSOD for the past couple of days with no clear patterns, some times the system is fine for couple of hours but sometimes it crashes several times during 5-10 minutes.

    I have updated all drivers I could think of and even installed a clean windows but no use.

    I would appreciate if anybody could guide me in the right direction as why this is happening/how to fix it.

    Here are some info about my system and I also used SF Diagnostic Tool found on the forum to pack dmp files and attach them here.

    Best Regards
    Hallaj


    Dell inspiron 6400
    Cpu: Intel Core Duo - T2250 1.73GHz
    RAM: 2 GB Kensigton
    Motherboard: MM061
    Graphic: ATI Mobility Radeon X1300
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hi there and welcome. Wow, you are having bsods for sure there lol. They're the unfortunate type too, 0x124 hardware stops. Not to worry, you have me on your side here. :)

    I'm in a bit of a predicament because I can't see most of your drivers due how it is crashing so abruptly. I am betting you have the memory set unwell in the bios.

    Please post a screen shot of CPU-Z spd tab and another of the memory tab.


    Also, delete this driver at C:\Windows\System32\drivers and reboot:

    spqp.sys
     
    #2 TorrentG, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  3. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    [langtitle=pt]Re: How to fix Windows 7 Blue screen with ntoskrnl.exe and hal.dll?[/langtitle]

    Outdated drivers (from the drivers list inclosed in the zip), do your best to update them:

    Code:
    rimmptsk     rimmptsk               Kernel        15/11/2006 08:16:23   
    rimsptsk     rimsptsk               Kernel        15/11/2006 03:42:45   
    rismxdp      Ricoh xD-Picture Card  Kernel        15/11/2006 
    
    
    nfrd960      nfrd960                Kernel        06/06/2006 
    
    
    mdmxsdk      mdmxsdk                Kernel        06/10/2005 
    
    iirsp        iirsp                  Kernel        13/12/2005
    
    HSXHWAZL     HSXHWAZL               Kernel        02/12/2005
    
    BrFiltUp     Brother USB Mass-Stora Kernel        06/08/2006 22:33:45   
    Brserid      Brother MFC Serial Por Kernel        06/08/2006 22:33:50   
    BrSerWdm     Brother WDM Serial dri Kernel        06/08/2006 22:33:44   
    BrUsbMdm     Brother MFC USB Fax On Kernel        06/08/2006 22:33:43   
    BrUsbSer     Brother MFC USB Serial Kernel        09/08/2006
    
    bcm4sbxp     Broadcom 440x 10/100 I Kernel        21/11/2006
    
    atikmdag     atikmdag               Kernel        15/03/2007
    
    arc          arc                    Kernel        24/05/2007
    
    adp94xx      adp94xx                Kernel        05/12/2008 23:59:55   
    adpahci      adpahci                Kernel        01/05/2007
    
    
     
    #4 cybercore, Nov 9, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2010
  5. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: [langtitle=pt]Re: How to fix Windows 7 Blue screen with ntoskrnl.exe and hal.dll?[/langtitle]

    Thanks for the help guys.

    I will be home in couple of hours and will then be able to test all this and post back the outcome.

    Regards
    Hallaj
     
  6. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    @TorrentG:
    Here are the CPU-Z screenshots. I would appriciate if you could take a look at them.
    I also deleted the spqp.sys file, can you tell me what it was?
    You mentioned something about the memory set unwell in the bios, is that something I can check/fix?
    Thanks in advance
    Hallaj
    View attachment CPU-Z.zip
     
  7. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Your spd tab is blank for some reason so there is no way to tell if it's right or not, but you should go in the bios and Load the Optimized Defaults then save.
     
  8. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bad TorrentG. Seems for some reason slot one is blank and slot two has the data. So here is the new spd screenshot attached.

    Can you please tell me a bit more about Load the Optimized Defaults as I can't find it in the Bios? What does it do/which hardware is it related to and under which section of Bios should I look for it?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Your memory is definitely underclocked and set too slow in the bios.

    Load Optimized Defaults should be on the first screen of the bios. If not, look for Default Settings or Failsafe settings. Set that and save. Post a new memory tab screen shot.
     
  10. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see, I'll look in the bios to see if there is any way to change that and at the same time I'll look to see if i can find the Load Optimized Defaults. Thanks.
     
  11. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Did find a field called Load Defaults in bios which was set to off. Strangely enough I couldn't set it to enabled, I tried several times but on the next restart when I checked the bios it was off again.

    I did also have one memory page/tab but it's read only. Do I have any other way to overclock or un-underclock the ram?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hit enter on that screen while the Continue button is highlighted. Save.

    If you can't do that, consult the motherboard manual for how to set the memory to default automatic settings.
     
  13. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll contact my motherboard manufacturer to see if i can sort it out.
     
  14. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: [langtitle=pt]Re: How to fix Windows 7 Blue screen with ntoskrnl.exe and hal.dll?[/langtitle]

    Thanks @cybercore. Is there anyway I can find out what driver these are (apart from the obvious Broadcom) and where to find the update for them? I have searched a bit on google, but can find much ese than they are windows system files.
     
  15. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    @cybercore: also I ran the prime 95 yesterday, the core temps was 73 and 75 at highest, but i couldn't run it for more than 30-40 min because my laptop rebooted all the time.

    About the recommended troubleshooting steps, I have already done a lot of them, i.e. reinstall vanilla windows, remove extra ;) hardware, cleaning inside the case etc. But there was couple of points in there which I'll try later today.

    One thing that worries me a bit is if this whole thing is just because of overheat, but then I have no way to really test and confirm this. I have removed the dvd-drive and card reader from both sides in hope of better ventilation. i have also opened the sides of the laptop. Sometimes I feel like it's helping but it can be my imagination. And beside that it sometimes just does a reboot minutes after I have turned it on while I only have a browser open, so not sure. Any suggestion there?
     
  16. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interestingly, after the last reboot none of the browsers (Chrome, FireFox, Opera) will open on my laptop.The only browser that still works is IE. Does that say anything about the cause of the problem?
     
  17. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    No. Please post a new memory tab screen shot for how it is now.

    73-75 degrees might be too high. I'd open up the unit and clean out the fan/heat sink.
     
  18. Hallaj85

    Hallaj85 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have cleaned the inside. Couldn't change those value in the bios so have now contacted the manufacturer as well. Here is a screenshot of the memory tab again, but i think it hasn't changed. Sorry for the delay btw.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...