How to play games with maximume performence?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by Bahaa Horani, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Bahaa Horani

    Bahaa Horani New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    There's a problem with my laptop performence (HP Pavillion dm4-1265dx Entertainment PC), The gmes are realy slow, my brother have a HP Pavillion dv6 and it supports all kind of games, I may know the answer, when he plugs the charger the whole screen goes black and then come back in 1 second and then he can play games.

    The dm4 is better than the dv6 but I think that the dv6 supports ATI Mobility Readon when he plugs the charger but I can't enable my ADM Readon I guess, so how to use maximume performence of when I plug the charger.

    Things I tried so far:

    1)Changed the advanced power settings and choosing the maximum performence when I plug the charger.
    2)Changed the graphic options at the Intel Graphics And Media Control Panel to maximume performence when plugging the charger.

    Please Respond, Thanks :)
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Your almost right in your assessment. Your brothers lappie has a much better graphics chip than the Intel version contained within yours.
    Also when gaming or using a laptop for intensive tasks then it's always best to have it plugged into the mains supply.
     
  3. Bahaa Horani

    Bahaa Horani New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    we have the same graphic card "Intel HD Graphics" but he can enable the ATI Mobility Readon when he plugs he charger but I can't.

    When comparing the 2 Laptops I found that the dm4 is better than the dv6 they both have ATI the problem is how to enable them?!
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Whilst it's true that you both have Intel graphic chips your brother has what's called 'switchable graphics'. See this page for more info:

    Switchable Graphics on Notebooks Configured with Intel and ATI GPUs HP Pavilion dv6-6145tx Entertainment Notebook PC - HP Customer Care (United States - English)

    Unfortunately your laptop does not. See system specification here:

    http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=c02634810&lang=en&cc=us&taskId=101&prodSeriesId=4346357&prodTypeId=321957
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. Bahaa Horani

    Bahaa Horani New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea I guess you're right the dm4 doesn'thave switchable graphics but the dv6 has switchable graphics, but one more questions, Can I upgrade my graphics to make it really good?! :eek:
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  7. johhnymarshal

    johhnymarshal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can adjust your PC to highest performance. Go to properties on my Computer and click advance tab. There you will see an option user the label performance. Clicking that button will open a new window and show you what you can do. It will give you the best performance turning graphics to older XP.
     

Share This Page

Loading...