i need help debugging crash dumps please

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by tbestenlehner, Aug 22, 2011.

  1. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    i recently build a new pc and cannot stop the blue screans i replace everything in my computer except the cpu and mother board. ran memtest like 100 times. driver verifier and everything anyone could seem to suggest but i cannot get them to go away and don't have another mobo or cpu to test on. please help me if you can
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I have looked at some of your dumps and it appears the Nvidia driver is involved in several of them. All of the ones I have seen seem to be related to memory, either addressing or corruption. Since you seem to have the same Nvidia driver I have, possibly something else is causing some bad data.

    Could you tell us about your system, motherboard, type and amount of RAM, Video card,etc., so we can access your problem better? Are there any settings in the Bios for any video memory?

    Does this happen in Safe Mode? Have you reverted to earlier drivers for the Video?

    It seems from net postings, your type of situation has been around for a while. I have never seen it on any of my systems, so perhaps some comparisons might help.

    Also, there is a sticky that enumerates the type of information which could be helpful for diagnosis. CPU-Z might indicate a problem with your setup as far as memory or processor.
     
  3. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i've kinda built 2 systems. but here are my spects. i'll show you what i've replaced from my original build and the one i have now. so you know or have an idea what i've done.

    Original system
    Amd 1100t
    cooler master v6 cpu fan
    Asus m4a87td evo mobo
    8Gb 2x4 corsair dominator RAM
    Ati hd 5850 Graphics card
    Western digital 1Tb hdd
    Xtreme gear 700 watt power supply

    Present System
    Amd 1100t
    cooler master v6 cpu fan
    Asus m4a87td evo mobo
    16 GB(4x4) crucial ballistix Ram
    Nvidia geforce gtx 560 ti
    1TB seagate Hdd
    1000 watt kingwin power supply

    i've reinstalled windows several times. driver verifier, memtest, individually tested each stick of ram... i've really tried everything. i've never had a bluescreen in safe mode but i have had few reboots. there are no settings i can find in the bios for video memory. just for main display adapter... PCI, PCI-E, ext.
     
  4. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi tbestenlehner,

    As Saltgrass has said. The screenies of CPU-Z will help enormously. With 16Gb of Ram your settings may need tweaking.

    Download and run CPU-Z. Take screenshots/snips of the Memory tab and all the slot#'s under the SPD tab.

    Go to Post Reply, click on Go Advanced button and attach the screenshots/snips to your post for all the RAM experts to see by using the paper clip you will find on the top toolbar. Do not zip them up.
     
  5. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok here is the cpu-z screenshots
     

    Attached Files:

  6. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is my bootlog also if it helps it looks to me like nvidia and cpu issues:/
     

    Attached Files:

  7. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone help please
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    As I said, I am not the expert, but I will try.

    The bootlog text file does not seem to help. If a device were causing a blue screen, the log would end immediately, so the last entry or near last entry might have caused a problem.

    Since your dump files seem to reference memory, I might start with getting some new memory to test. I would also keep in mind that page files written to the hard drive may be part of a memory corruption problem. Sorry I do not have the experience to check your CPU-Z postings.

    You are using the same processor and motherboard. Have you checked for a bios update for the motherboard, or would you have any reason to suspect the Chip install might have been disturbed? Is the motherboard old enough that you might need a new CMOS battery?

    The GeForce might be causing a problem, they can get hot. Have you been running the Nvidia utility to watch its temperatures?

    Is there anything special about your new Hard drive, like SATA III or anything?

    Have you tried reinstalling your old power supply?

    Otherwise, check all your connections. If you removed the motherboard during the build, perhaps confirm the install for it.
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Additionally as to what Elmer was hinting at above it's likely that your current memory configuration needs a slight tweaking.
    It seems that on most boards when all memory slots are populated with 1333Mhz memory or higher you will often need a slight increase in voltage to augment the extra demands place on the memory controller.
    Having experience something similar myself and having used this link to resolve it, you may want to either check you documentation for your Motherboard or perhaps their specific community support forum for proper instructions. As I am not familiar with your particular board I can't really help except to say that it usually only takes a bump to the next higher integral in your BIOS under memory or DRAM voltage. I wish I could be more specific.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i'll try turning up my dram voltage here are two more crash dumps...from yesterday. my bluescreens aren't exactly re-occurring. pretty random at best. some times ill go a day or two without one. then BAM three or so in a day
     

    Attached Files:

  11. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    195
    Hi,

    Your memory being Crucial Balistix Ddr3 1600 can you up your ddr voltage 1.65V and see how it goes. If after that you still get bsod's or freezes can you set you command rate to 2.

    HTH

    Rich
     
  12. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    my sticks only say 1.5V on them. are sure they can go up that high?
     
  13. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    195
    I'm sure but it's up to you :) If you can try 1.55V and then 1.60V upto a max of 1.654 :)
     
  14. tbestenlehner

    tbestenlehner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    well for that last couple days i've ran memtest on all 4 of my RAM sticks. and had 2 of them test bad. i hope this was all the issue was and i won't have anymore. i just wanted to give you all an update and say thanks for taking the time to help me. and give me some advice. i'll be back to let you guys know if i have anymore BSOD's. i remembered when i ran it last and it passed with all 4 sticks. but it was different memory....
     
  15. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,703
    Likes Received:
    195
    Do you still have the memory that worked? If so use that after testing it :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...