I need to allow ActiveX add on

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by powerlever, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. powerlever

    powerlever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to allow an ActiveX (.cab) add on so I can remotely view my home security DVR.
    Windows will not allow me to install this add on because the publisher is unknown.
    I am running Windows 7 home premium whch unfortunately does not have group settings.
    I think I need to edit the registry in some way to allow this add on but I have not been able to figure it out.
    How can I configure Windows 7 Home premium to allow ActiveX?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  3. powerlever

    powerlever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    no luck

    Still doesn't work.
    I have found various posts on the internet similar to my problem, most of the solutions advise people that they can allow "unknown publishers" in their group settings, however I am running Home Premium which doesn't have the ability to change group settings. Most of the posts say that you just have to do it manually with my version by editing the registry, but no step by step instructions. I did find a fix for this problem in Vista but it seems to be a little different. When I try to view my DVR server IE8 doesn't allow the activeX add on but gives me the option to run it anyway, then windows won't let me install it because it is from an unknown publisher and doesn't give me the option to allow it, its rediculous.
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You can add the site to the Trusted sites in Internet Explorer options under the Security tab.
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    This is very strange... DirectX is almost an integral part of windows and so should be recognised without problem. I'm wondering what else is going on here... I'll have a check and get back to you..
     
  6. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You're right Kemical as this is coming directly from Microsoft's site

    See if you can locate adirect download link to save it to your hard drive, then excute it there.

    Are you trying to download an older version of DirectX as Kemical has said:

     
    #6 reghakr, Jan 27, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Agreed Reghakr it's definitely a strange one... I'll have a look through google now although I'm wondering if the OP has done an upgrade instead of a clean install...or something of that nature?

    Also can the OP check his dxdiag?

    If you check the following screenshot you'll see where to find it and how to save the files needed.. Please then post the file..

    View attachment 5082
     
    #7 kemical, Jan 27, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  8. powerlever

    powerlever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No that doesn't work, its windows that is not allowing the "unknown publisher" not IE
     
  9. powerlever

    powerlever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything looks fine to me, I don't know.......I'll keep messing with it, if anyone thinks of anything else let me know
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Who's talking about IE? I asked you to check your dxdiag and post the results. These are files relating to your DirectX and may contain a clue as to what the problem is...
     
  11. powerlever

    powerlever New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ummm...reghakr (the other person who doesn't know how to fix my problem) posted "You can add the site to the Trusted sites in Internet Explorer options under the Security tab".........thats who was talking about internet explorer. I'm pretty sure you guys know less about this than I do. I'm done with this. I'll look elseware for my solution.
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,819
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Let us know what you find as I'm always eager to learn...


    Oh and thanks for being so courteous too..
     
    #12 kemical, Jan 27, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2010
  13. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Out of interest, do you have UAC on? Try turn it off see if it works. Something else you could try is Chrome has an IE tab extension, not sure if it has ActiveX with it but maybe you could try that. Lastly, there is a command you can enter into command promt that might help. bcdedit /set loadoptions DDISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS its for driver signing but it may help you here.
     
  14. Oneil Smith

    Oneil Smith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: no luck

    hey i have the answer if you still need it reply to the post
     
  15. Oneil Smith

    Oneil Smith New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Open Internet Explorer by clicking the Start button. In the search box, type Internet Explorer, and then, in the list of results, click Internet Explorer.
    2. Navigate to the website that you want to add to a specific security zone.
    3. Click the Tools button, and then click Internet Options.
    4. Click the Security tab, and then click a security zone (Local intranet, Trusted sites, or Restricted sites).
    5. Click Sites.
    6. If you clicked Local intranet in step 4, click Advanced.
    7. The website should be shown in the Add this website to the zone field. Click Add.
    If the site is not a secure site (HTTPS), clear the Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone check box.
    8. Click Close, and then click OK (or click OK twice if you clicked Local intranet in step 4).
    For more information, please refer to the link mentioned below:
    Security zones: adding or removing websites
     

Share This Page

Loading...