IE 9 will not install-Win 7 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by katmandu, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. katmandu

    katmandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Win 7 64 bit has been running great. My windows updates has been working great also,but will not install IE 9. I tried it though Windows update ,also by standalone but to no avail. In Windows Update I receive error 3701. I am attaching the IE 9 setup loghere also. Ant help would be appreciated.:confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Before going further, go to updates and check to see if there are any outstanding. This is often the cause of this error.
     
  3. katmandu

    katmandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am completely up to date.
     
    #3 katmandu, Oct 1, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2011
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    TRy and install with your antivirus and firewall disabled
     
  5. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    what errors are getting ?
     
  6. katmandu

    katmandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have disabled AV and Firewall and all staretup apps. I get error 3701.
     
  7. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have read in other forums that IE 9 has to go in before SP1. Do you have SP1 already. If so you might need to remove it to install IE 9 then reinstall SP1. In both cases I would recommend downloading the files from MS, disconnect from the internet, shutdown all apps including AV/Am then install from the downloaded files. I always do this with large updates.
     
  8. katmandu

    katmandu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have Sp1. If that's the case I will stick with IE8. I would have to do a repair install because I deleted my SP1 files long ago. It would just not be worth it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...