IE9 Beta

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by Sonny, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I have just installed IE9 Beta 64 bit on Windows 7 64 bit. I cannot use IE 32 bit browser now. Do I have to also install the IE9 32 bit browser also.:frown:
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    No you don't. Updating the 64 bit version on my computer (Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit) updated both versions. Use the about Internet Explorer link within the help menu to determine what version you are looking at, because the are relatively indistinguishable otherwise. The 64 bit version will actually state that it is 64bit the 32 bit doesn't say anything like that.

    64 bit version should be here
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer
    32 bit version should be here
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer
     
    #2 Trouble, Sep 22, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  3. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thanks for answering.

    When I went to help menu this is what it said:

    Version: 8.0.7600.16385
    Cipher Strength: 256-bit
    Product ID: 00359-030-1363771-85891
    Update Version: 0

    I have both the 64 bit and 32 bit browser in my computer. I am running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

    Maybe just try and reload it again? Tried 32 bit browser but says wrong version for my computer.
     
  4. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Reinstalled with same results. IE9 in 64 bit works but IE9 in 32 bit does not open. Keep getting message that there is a problem and windows will notify me when there is a fix. I guess I will just wait until the final version comes out and then try to reinstall it. Thanks for help Trouble.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sorry, I wasn't much help on that one. You don't happen to have the beta of Service Pack 1 for Windows 7 running do you? There have been some reported issues with some problems running both betas on the same machine.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sonny try running windows update as you might be missing an update but if no joy try this page for info on IE9:

    Internet Explorer Support
     
  7. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trouble you gave me an idea where to check to make sure I had the right version. I would not have even done that if you had not mentioned. Thanks. Any suggestion is worth checking out.
     
  8. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thanks Kemical, I checked for updates and it seems none are missing. I checked your link but can't find anything to do with my problem. I just wonder since I did a clean install to Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit from Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit, could that be a problem since it is an upgrade.
     
  9. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Right and thanks. Make sure to take a look at Kemical's link that he posted above before you do the uninstall thing you may find something useful, keep us posted.
     
  10. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thank you Trouble and Kemical. I called microsoft and the answer was simple. The only thing that I needed to do was reset my browser. Now everthing is working but cannot use the Windows 7 forum tool bar. That causes IE 32 bit not to work. I am also having trouble getting in to comment here after signing in. I am sure I will figure out later what is going on. Just that I know the tool bar for window 7 forum does not seem to be compatible with IE 9. Thanks again for offering to help.
     
  11. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Ok, commenting is no problem now. Just the tool bar will not work with IE9 right now. Any suggestions as what might be the problem would greatly be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I had some issues at first with IE9, so I decided to do a little tender loving care. I used Ccleaner, to clean up everything including the registry, performed a defrag on my system drive and it believe it or not, seemed to smooth things out considerably. Also have no problems with the site toolbar in the 32bit version. Never know give it a whirl, couldn't hurt
     
  13. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    I did what you said and when that didn't work I removed it and reinstalled the tool bar, to know avail it freezes up my screen. I don't really have to have it but found it handy to use.
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    OK, so I just did the whole thing all over again. Removed IE9, cleaned up with Ccleaner ect.
    Rebooted and reinstalled IE9.
    Found the same issue that you are experiencing with the toolbar, could not understand why it had worked before and now it wasn't, so here is what I did.
    Control panel, programs and features, uninstalled Windows 7 toolbar. Used Ccleaner again to cleanup it found three registry entries related to the Community Toolbar, I removed them and rebooted.
    Opened IE9, tools (the gear thingy), manage add ons, look and made sure that the Windows 7 Forums toolbar was not an available option to enable or disable.
    Launched the forum, went here http://windows7forums.com/software-updates/15856-windows-7-forums-toolbar-available.html
    re-downloaded the toolbar, and ran it. Closed and reopened IE9, everything working fine again. Hope this helps you.
     
    Sonny and (deleted member) like this.
  15. Sonny

    Sonny Fantastic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    93
    Thank you Trouble, I just did what you said and everything is working fine now. Thanks again for your help.
     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Whew! Glad that turned out OK. Appreciate the update and see you around the forums.
     
  17. enigma1944

    enigma1944 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that and when it opens I receive the following:Error 20 Object doesn't support this property or method
     
  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    enigma1944:
    Hello. Since you quoted my post I feel compelled to answer if for no other reason than to assure you that people are looking at your post. However, your particular issue would seem, at least at first glance to exceed my level of knowledge on the topic.
    If you could be a little bit more clear as to your question, I'm sure others here may have some insight to share with you.
    Tried what exactly, opening IE9, opening the "About Internet Explorer" link in the menu. Or something else entirely.
    and
    What opens....see above.
    Sounds like a common VB error, have you tried event viewer, application and or system logs, look for critical errors and see if there is any further details.
    I have noticed some unusual behavior with this beta, when I have multiple applications running in the background. Not your particular issue, but other peculiar stuff, so consider what software products you may have running in the background when using IE9 and attempt to minimized the number as much as possible.
    You may have a bad install. Have you considered or already attempted to remove and reinstall it.
    It's a beta product, and you'll probably hear that a lot. Not that that is a satisfactory explanation, more like an excuse but there are options for reporting bugs as Kemical points out in post #53 here .

    EDIT: Sorry the link that Kemical posted is actually here post #60.
     
    #18 Trouble, Sep 25, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2010
  19. 1Gopher

    1Gopher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be nice to have a Favourites bar ! Even firefox still has that!
     
  20. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If you right click the area just to the right of the new tab button do you not have an option to select "Favorites Bar"?
    See attachment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...