Increase ram with System.ini real?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by xSinister, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. xSinister

    xSinister New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. mishagale

    mishagale New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    It looks like bull- um... baloney to me. I might have believed it apart from changing 386Enh to 3000Enh. 386 is the model number of a (very old) Intel processor. It's not a number that represents a quantity of something, so increasing it won't do anything to performance, it'll just be messing with a system file. I'm not certain it'd actually break your system, but I'm pretty sure it wouldn't do it any good either.
     
  3. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    Windows 98 was the last version of windows to actually read INI files....
    They're included in newer versions because some old programs need them.

    FWIW....
     
  4. DirtRider

    DirtRider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I will also pass on this mod
     
  5. Agent Data

    Agent Data Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    42
    Ahaha, is that a 16 bit application? probably not!

    These commands added were old DOS commands to load-high ram!
    So indeed it will work but only in DOS environments - maybe a round of Duke Nukem 2D?...was very famous!
     

Share This Page

Loading...