Install 7 on laptop

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Installation' started by colb, Jul 19, 2009.

  1. colb

    colb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have used Win7 RC on my desktop and happy with it - I now want to install on a laptop which is a Dell with a recovery partition. If I install 7 will I be able to use this restore partition to go back OR am I better making a drive image, formatting and doing a clean install?
    Will appreciate any help
     
  2. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Assuming al is normal, there is no problem. Install 7 in the basic partition and the recovery partition will still be there. But, of course, if you choose to use the recovery partition, it will only restore the original OEM (XP?).
    But, IMO, I have always, and would always recommend an image rather that using a resroe partition or Windows own restore. The Laptop restore will not, as you are probably aware, restore all your latest files or installations, only what was on the original purchase.
     
  3. colb

    colb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Many thanks for the input - I have got to the position I agree with what you say and I can get rid of the recovery partition after I have done an image?
     
  4. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    If you have no intention of ever returning to the original computer installation, at the time of purchase, then you can certainly get rid of the other partition.
     
  5. colb

    colb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just one last point

    When I install 7 do I have the option to format and make partitions? I can't remember!:(
    Thanks again
     
  6. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Yes. Select custom install and then in the next screen you have an option to format etc...
     
  7. colb

    colb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again this should be over and out!
     

Share This Page

Loading...