Installation fails every time.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by gd0929918, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got x64 Ultimate and it just won't install.
    At any random time during the installation, the screen will go black and the computer will become non-responsive.
    This has been happening to me with every version of 7 i've tried... 6801, 7000, 7100, 32-bit, 64-bit... everything.
    One time it actually did finish the install and I got to the desktop, but about 10 minutes later it "crashed" without warning. The screen just went black and the computer wouldn't respond to any kind of input. I thought it might have been the GPU screwing up, so i swapped out my BFG 8800gt for my KFA 8800gt and still got the same problem, so i'm thinking it's a mobo problem?

    ga-p35-ds3r
    q6600
    8800gt

    It's not the discs, because i've tried them in my laptop and they work perfectly fine.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    May be your media reader. If you have a USB DVD Drive try that. Also try copying the files to a bootable Flash Drive.
     
  3. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I highly doubt it's my dvd drive, because everything else I do with it works just fine and dandy.

    EDIT: and I don't have a USB DVD drive, nor a flash drive big enough to make a bootable drive.
     
  4. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Have you updated your BIOS recently? In your BIOS you might make sure you have the "default/basic" option checked rather than "enhanced." You might try unplugging any USB devices (e.g. printer) connected. I'd also Google your MOBO and "Windows 7 Install" to see if anyone else is having this problem.
     
    #4 busydog, Nov 9, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2009
  5. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check my BIOS, but since I was able to actually finish the install of the RC once and get to the desktop before it crashed, I don't think that's the problem...
     
  6. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not entirely sure why, but I got it working.
    I was in the BIOS, decided to overclock my q6600 to 2.91ghz. That's about it.
    I then decided to try a different approach and installed XP Pro x64 followed by the SP2 upgrade. After that finished, I did a Vista Ultimate x64 upgrade/clean install. Miraculously, it was the first time I had an OS with the Vista kernel not crash when it was installing on this computer. After that finished, I did a Windows 7 Ultimate x64 upgrade, and it worked flawlessly.

    I didn't do anything in the BIOS except overclocking, and I didn't remove any USB devices since the previous time I tried and failed.

    So I got it working in the end, albeit I had to do a different approach at it.

    Can close this thread if you want, or leave it open for more discussion... I don't care, and I doubt I'll be back here after I post here.
     
  7. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I'm back... After about a week of having it running flawlessly, I decided to install Ubuntu 9.04 under Wubi. As soon as that happened, my problems came back, in the form of randomly crashing to a black screen with no way to recover unless I do a hard reset. Safe Mode seems to be pretty stable (it's what I'm in right now), but normal mode can last anywhere between half an hour and 5 minutes before it crashes without warning. There's no error message, no crash screen, it just goes black. I uninstalled Ubuntu in Safe Mode, hoping that would solve my problems, but to no avail. I'm extremely tempted to drop back down to XP Pro within the next couple days, unless I can figure out what's making this happen.

    Any ideas? It's not driver related, as far as I know, because the only thing I had done differently was install Ubuntu under Wubi and then restarted.
    If I can't fix it by Wednesday morning, I'm switching back to XP Pro.
     
  8. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Something should show up as misbehavin if you run the problem identifications at the link in my tagline.
     
  9. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, nothing. No driver issues, perfmon wouldn't even work,
    The only thing I found that might be of any kind of help is in the Event Viewer.

    This would happen every time I did a hard reset.
    The event that happens before is saying that SUPERAntiSpyware couldn't load due to incompatibility issues... which is funny, because it was one of the first things I installed when my system was working nicely, and it worked perfectly.

    I disabled all the Startup programs in Msconfig and am about to test to see if anything happens when I boot normally. I'll edit in the results.
     
    #9 gd0929918, Nov 23, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2009
  10. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked fine for about two hours, then I opened Winamp to play some music and it froze. It didn't give me a black screen crash, but it just froze up, repeating a quarter second of audio every 5 seconds or so.
    This is weird, because I played a video in Winamp about 40 minutes earlier and it was just fine.

    I then rebooted, thinking it was Winamp's fault, so I jumped on here right away before opening anything else and it froze again before I could even log in (about 20 seconds after starting Firefox).

    The Event Log for that short boot up is showing this:

     
  11. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    There are several indications that thes problems wish SASDIFSV SASKUTIL are related to malware/spyware or even a virus called Heat.

    HOWEVER.. I can find no indication in your messages that you have installed the FINAL version of Win 7 7600.

    There are links to download it directly from microsoft in my blogs.

    I wouldn't waste any time with a RC version. Go straight to 7600 .. first go to your bios menu and restore the factory settings or use the clear cmos jumper option. Unless you have over 4 gb memory you should install the 32 bit version... there is no advantage to installing 64 bit.

    If you do that and check the diag logs and run perfmon /report from the command line and see what it has to say you should know what's acting up.
     
  12. carlos2009

    carlos2009 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    2
    windows freeze

    have yo checked the hard drive??
     
  13. gd0929918

    gd0929918 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    SASDIFSV - SASDIFSV.SYS - Program Information
    SASKUTIL.sys Windows process - What is it?

    It's SUPERAntiSpyware.

    http://i138.photobucket.com/albums/q245/Zephyr6831/7600.png
    ...why would I go to your blogs to download files "directly" (should be "indirectly") from Microsoft, when I could just go to the Microsoft website and skip the middle man?

    ... did you not read my first post? None of the builds I've tried have worked except for this one, and even this is crapping out now.
    Also, one of the first things I've tried was to reset the BIOS to factory settings. Nada. If anything, it exacerbated the problem. As for the RAM, I've got 8gbs, so using a 32-bit OS is a complete waste of hardware. I'm not attacking you or anything, but I don't really appreciate you condescending me like that. Also, even if you DO have 4gbs of RAM, your OS will only see ~3.5gbs of it, but it'll say it recognizes 4gbs simply because you have 4x1gb modules (or 2x2gb modules) installed. Vista's SP1 "fixed" that issue basically so the "tech geeks" would stfu about their OS not seeing all 4gbs in 32-bit.
    32-bit Windows Vista SP1 to Handle a Full 4 GB of RAM? - Yes and no! - Softpedia
    This freezing issue is the only thing that has me stumped and it's the ONLY reason I'm here, since I figured the Windows 7 forums should have some sort of idea about what's going on.

    perfmon /report won't run in Safe Mode, and normal mode won't stay "alive" long enough for me to run it.
    The harddrive's fine. It runs x64 XP Pro perfectly, as well as any Linux distro I throw at it. Also, if it was a harddrive problem, wouldn't I be getting the same issues in Safe Mode as when in normal mode?



    Here's a full list of my hardware, just for future reference:

    q6600
    GA-P35-DS3R rev2.1
    KFA2 8800GT
    4xCorsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-8500C5 2GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-15 240PIN
    2xHitachi Deskstar 1TB
    Hitachi Deskstar 750GB (This one has the OS installed on it)
    Corsair hx520w PSU
    LG GH22LS50 dvd drive
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
    Antec 900

    I believe that's all of it... minus the peripherals like keyboards/printer/monitor/etc.
     
  14. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    If you find them on their website please share them with us.

     
    #14 tblount, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...