Internet works but not browsers

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by raiden1701, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

    Lately when I try connecting with any browser it says I can't like the internet is unplugged. But I can download and install Windows 7 updates. I was maybe thinking it was a virus so I installed Malwarebytes and Superantispyware. Malwarebytes wouldn't update but SAS would. It had AVG anti-virus 2011 and I uninstalled it with the Windows built in uninstaller. Then I tried using "avg remover 64 bit" and I got the message "the version of this file is not compatible with the version of windows you are running" which is strange because I have the 64 bit version of Windows. I got suspicious and tried running TDSSKiller.exe, rkill.com and some other AV programs but got the same "the version...". I read in a couple of searches that it's probably a virus and since I can't run any AV stand alone program, I suspect it is. When I ran Malwarebytes and SAS, it showed no virus's which I don't believe. Also everything in the Network and Sharing Center is totally normal showing that all is working fine. So if I can't run any of my anti-trojan, etc. programs, I can't see what it might be. This does the same in Safe Mode.
     
  2. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi raiden

    Download the correct Microsoft Standalone System Sweeper for your system.

    Burn to disc / usb stick. Make sure the DVD drive / usb drive is set to boot first in the bios, re-start and run the system sweeper.
     
  3. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ran the sweeper but no change.
     
  4. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Just a thought. Did you run the many programs in Safe Mode?
     
  5. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I ran them all in safe mode and regular mode.
     
  6. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I have this habit of stopping reading two sentences from the end!! :)
     
  7. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    Go to your Lan settings and make sure that is is set to Automatically Select Settings.

    In Google Chrome I get to this by going to Options, Under the Hood, Network, Change Proxy Settings.

    Many malware programs will change this setting to a proxy server witch lets the internet work but keeps you from connecting to anything.
    This can persist even after the malware is removed.

    I'm surprised that you didn't find any malware with Malwarebytes.
    This sounds exactly like a malware problem.

    Mike
     
    #7 MikeHawthorne, Jan 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
    1 person likes this.
  8. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
  9. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the delay, but I realized this problem has only been here for a week. So I did a system restore (in normal moded) to about 2 weeks ago but the restore got hung up for too long (something about the registry) so I restarted and ran the fix start option. So I guess the restore didn't work and I'm still where I was at the other days.

    Here are some notes:

    -running Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    -Only 64 bit IE9 works
    -trying to run AV programs like TDSSkiller and rkill.com give a message saying file is not compatible with the version of Win 7 i'm running, unless I need the 64bit versions which I've never needed before
    -everything seems normal connection wise (wired and wireless), but Chrome says in options that it is using a proxy to connect, but when I go to change it, it is not set to proxy, just the normal settings
    -seems like a sneaky virus, but is it?
    -I've run all the anti-virus programs I can, including all the ones mentioned
    -malwarebytes won't update but SAS will
     
  10. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Try the system restore in Safe Mode, although it's un-reversable (???). Any restores that have failed for me in normal mode have never failed in safe mode. Make sure to grab a copy of the affected programs list.
     
  11. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Click the start orb and type
    inetcpl.cpl
    and hit enter
    select the Connections tab
    and click the LAN settings button
    Uncheck all the check box and click OK and OK
    See if you can launch IE9 and open a web page
    If not type this into the Address /URL bar of your IE9 and hit enter
    209.85.145.105
    Let us know the results
     
  12. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried sys restore in safe mode but it failed. I also tried all of the above and no change at all.
     
  13. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Maybe we should back up a little.

    What is your network configuration? Is computer wired to router which goes to modem?

    If you have a router can you access its admin page using its IP address?

    If you open the Network and Sharing window, do you see a red x anywhere? Any other messages and do you show as a private network (house)?

    Only 64 bit programs are able to run? If you can, open an administrative command prompt and type SFC /scannow to check your system files. {Winkey and type cmd then CTRL+Shift+Enter}

    Any Error messages in the Event Viewer?
     
    #13 Saltgrass, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
  14. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    My connection is modem to wireless router. It doesn't matter about how I'm connected because I have tried 3 different houses with totally different connections. I can't access my router using it's IP. And there are no X's anywhere and it is private. When I try scannow a command window opens for half a second then closes every time I try it.
     
  15. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You are running the scannow command in an Administrative command prompt? The command prompt window should not close, but only give some type of message, unless it might be another symptom of your problem.

    If you are using the command prompt window, open Task Manager and see if TrustedInstaller is listed on the Services Tab.

    If it is, open Services.msc and see if you can start and stop the "Windows Module Installer"? It will probably be not running so don't worry unless you cannot get it to start. The fact you can do Windows updates might rule this out, but won't hurt to check.

    If a virus has caused the problem, unless you can somehow identify it there may not be a way to recover without at least a Repair Install. Were you able to boot to a copy of the Microsoft Bootable Anti-virus Elmer suggested?

    I have been trying to think of some service that might not be running and causing a problem, but I do not know of one, so I was hoping the File Scan might replace some bad system files.

    Otherwise, the things that might be blocking just the Browsers might be an anti-virus, or a firewall, or a previously mentioned virus..
     
  16. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran the scannow in an administrative command box and it said everything is good. I tried the bootable MS anti-virus but it found nothing.
     
  17. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Also try running Malwarebytes in safe mode.
    The fact that it won't update also sounds like malware of some sort.

    You can also try changing the name of the Malwarebytes .exe file to anything else, just don't change the extension.
    Some malware has a list of malware programs and actively blocks updates etc.
    I've found this in the ones that give you the pop ups saying you have a virus.

    As weird as it sounds changing the name of the .exe file can fool the malware into not recognizing what you are running, and allow it to run normally.

    I've found Malwarebytes to be the most effective software for getting rid of these things, but it will have to be up to date.

    Mike
     
  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    When you booted to the MS system sweeper disk, did you select full system scan? I believes it defaults to "Quick" additionally I believe you can also customized the scan to also include drives / partitions other than you system drive. You may want to try that as well.
     
  19. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I tried Malwarebytes in safe mode and I renamed the .exe and ran it. It still didn't find anything. And your right, it usually always finds something. And as for the MS boot AV, I did select full scan when I ran it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...