Invisible submenus in Favorites Menu

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by SKR, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. SKR

    SKR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The submenus in the Favorites menu usually show as the outlline of the box that contains the menu items but infrequently nothing at all. Accidentally got the contents to show just a few minutes ago but have been unable to recreate. Can scroll within an invisible box, see the urls and navigate from there; however, it's quite irksome and not at all acceptable to another less patient member of our family. Just now tried again and got solid grey boxes, although there was one attempt that elicited the proper text. Anyone else having a similar problem?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    You could try rebuilding it via the customize menu (see screenshot)? Just untick the box, reboot and re-enable the Favourites menu.
    If that doesn't work, right-click on command prompt and run as administrator, then type:

    sfc /scannow

    and hit enter.. If the system file checker finds anything it will attempt to repair it..
     
  3. SKR

    SKR New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you...

    I have tried both but nothing wrong was found from the scan and the first suggestion only works part of the time. It's not as though I can't get used to the explorer bar version for now. I'm just spoiled, I guess! I appreciate your time.
     
  4. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Have you tried right clicking the "Favourites" and selecting some of the options in "customise"?
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,838
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hmm.... did you upgrade or do a clean install?

    Also are you running with any security like anti virus and anti spyware?
     

Share This Page

Loading...