Is it possible to see the real remote desktop?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by DrConstrat, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. DrConstrat

    DrConstrat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using Remote Desktop I can connect my one Win7 machine to my other Win7 machine.

    However I don't see my "real" desktop - by that I mean the remote machine spawns a sort of virtual desktop and shows me that - I can't run the graphic card control panel for instance - and if a monitor is plugged into the remote machine you just see the login screen not what I'm doing.

    So is it possible to see the 'real' desktop using Microsoft Remote Desktop?

    Or do I have to find some other remote control software - like VNC or something like that.
     
  2. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Remote Assistance will do what you seek. Different rational to RA but, will give what you describe. So will Team Viewer.

    Drew

     
  3. DrConstrat

    DrConstrat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    Btw what do you mean when you say "different rational" ?

    Does one have to manually start the connection on both machines with "Remote Assistance" ?

     
    #3 DrConstrat, Feb 27, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
  4. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Yes, so may not serve your purposes.
     
  5. DrConstrat

    DrConstrat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Indeed, I just want to be able to log on to a lone machine and configure what it outputs through its video output.
     
  6. DrConstrat

    DrConstrat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps there is a system policy which will change behavior?
     

Share This Page

Loading...