Is it possible

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by philwhite, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. philwhite

    philwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have Windows 7 Home premium 32bit on my laptop which i upgraded over Vista 32bit.
    If i buy Windows 7 Ultimate full retail version can i install this over my current OS with the 64bit version??

    If not i will just buy another hard drive and do a fresh install.
    Incidentally, the laptop will work with 64bit.

    BTW my current hard drive is one i bought separate so i could keep the original laptop hard drive to one side should i ever wish to put it back in.

    Thanks.
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    268
    A clean install is always very much the preferred option and having already run one upgrade install you are likely to be importing even more baggage and I would recommend a clean install especially strongly in this case.
     
  3. philwhite

    philwhite New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that i was thinking it was the best option. I have a program that will only work with XP so using 7 Ultimate in XP compatibility mode will hopefully let the program run.
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    268
    Or you could set your system to dual boot as I have done for software requiring xp.
     
  5. Veegertx

    Veegertx Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    19
    btw you can't upgrade 32 to 64. well known fact
     
  6. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Installing x64 over x32 will probably work but it won't keep your programs and settings. I would reformat the partition and do a clean install.
     

Share This Page

Loading...