Issue with Dual Monitors on Old(er) Equipment

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Ordieth, Oct 31, 2009.

  1. Ordieth

    Ordieth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running on a MSI K8N Diamond Plus Motherboard with an XFX Nvidia Gforce 7600 GT (256MB). It has dual DVI's. I was able to do dual monitors in XP, but in Windows 7 it will not work.

    It see's both monitors, but for some reason, it thinks my second port is a VGA port and I cannot change it. (thats from the NVidia tool...)

    Anyone else in this great big world have this issue, or can someone lend a hand?

    thank you.
     
  2. JessicaD

    JessicaD New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ordith,

    You can run dual monitors in Windows 7. Let's check some things first...

    Are you using the latest driver update for you NVidia card? Also, have you gone into Display settings and selected "detect" for the monitors available? This should force the computer to recognize the two present displays.

    Should you still encounter issues, Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here Windows 7 Category . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You are welcome to also check the threads available there for additional assistance and feedback.


    Jessica
    Microsoft Windows Client Team
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
  4. Ordieth

    Ordieth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    I can verify that I am on the latest Nvidia drivers. I also know that RC 1 was able to do dual screens with my current configuration.... I will try your official support forum.

    thank you.
     
  5. Ordieth

    Ordieth New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha solved it!!!!

    I just had to install my windows XP drivers..... :p

    Poop on you nvida windows 7 drivers! (sorry, it's been a very long day....)
     

Share This Page

Loading...