Just discovered today I don't have Administrator even as User

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by ttodd0450, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My New Laptop doesn't have two users only one..and that user is me.. I don't have administrative rights so therefore I can't create an administrator..to do simple tasks such as delete a program,, or open up msconfig.. These functions need administrative rights..

    How do I get these????

    My friend suggests I may have a corrupt registry..

    any ideas????
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hey...

    These types of "friends" always mean well but....


    Log into safe mode and edit your main account to be an admin one.
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  4. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds easy but what happens is - Safemode // ( one user , me ,) then when I go into control panel to create new user ( administrative).. NO matter what name I type in to create administrative it says it does not recognise name as I am not allowed to use these charactors -
    \|/<>*&^% ..... etc .. but I am only typing in letters or numbers and I still get this error message in creating a name .........
     
  5. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Don't make a new account. Do as I've said and see how it goes, instead.

    Or follow Trouble's advice, although you should disable the Admin account when you are done what is needed.
     
  6. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    edit again and again .. ( this web site is not very friendly says I have to wait 30 seconds between posts even If I wait two minutes ) ....
     
    #6 ttodd0450, Dec 12, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2010
  7. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried it again..
    into the command mode I don't get C:net user administrator /active:yes

    I get C:\users\name\net user administrator /active:yes

    and it reports back access denied ..
     
  9. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    My humble comment:

    This happens because you don't run the cmd as an admin. If you can't start it as admin, boot from 7 DVD -> Repair -> Recovery options -> Command Prompt -> type:

    Code:
    net user administrator /active:yes
     
  10. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    will take me a couple of days .,. off to work ...
     
  11. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK I did exactly this scenario and in windows repair (aftefr a five disc backup) I was able to perform that request (active:yes) and it reported it was successful..|
    Then I restart back to my login (one only still) and ran the same test only with accessories/command prompt-right click/run as administrator but it failed again..\sample images attached..
    I'm still stuck with no administrator....
     

    Attached Files:

  12. ttodd0450

    ttodd0450 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I phoned HP support today and after explaining this scenario Looks like I have to reset the PC back to factory default or to be more precise FORMAT .. I backed up onto 5 dvd all my loaded programs and files so hopefully I won't have to spend 24 hours getting the PC back to the way it was for me... I still love my XP ...
     

Share This Page

Loading...