Keyboard Shortcut for "Sleep"?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by proteus459, Nov 16, 2011.

  1. proteus459

    proteus459 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    With all the keyboard shortcuts available in Win 7, isn't there one to put the computer to sleep?

    The system came with a discontinued mouse/keyboard business set. The keyboard had a "sleep" key. Alas, this keyboard was not liquid-proof and a cup of tea ended its brief career as my favorite keyboard. The new MS keyboards seem to have every key EXCEPT the "sleep" key.
     
    #1 proteus459, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2011
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you have sleep set up on the power you can Winkey right arrow enter. But if it still shows shutdown, it will do that.

    There should be a way to set one of your keys the way you want. Which model keyboard is it?

    If I had a sleep key, the way I type, I would be hitting it all the time... :)
     
    #2 Saltgrass, Nov 16, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  3. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Why don't you just set the machine to go to sleep (by itself) after whatever amount of time you like & choose?

    Drew
     
  4. proteus459

    proteus459 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a model 600 wired keyboard.

    Winkey+right arrow+enter Aero snaps the open window to the right; it does nothing to the power.
     
    #4 proteus459, Nov 17, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2011
  5. proteus459

    proteus459 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    ...because there are times when I want to control that myself... when I just want to wrap up my session, put the computer to sleep and leave.
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Sorry, there should not have been + signs. I will check your keyboard but I currently have a Logitech K350 wireless that has a power button.
     
  7. proteus459

    proteus459 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    It doesn't seem to matter, + signs or not, pressing and holding the Win key, the right arrow key and "enter" Aero snaps the current window onto the right half of the screen.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You don't press and hold.

    The Winkey brings up the start menu. The right arrow moves to the power button. The Enter activates the highlighted button.

    I use this for the sleep or shutdown sequence if the monitor is not on for some reason.
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    There is another option. Alt+F4 will close active windows. If no window is selected or none are open, you will be given a sleep/shutdown selection.
     
  10. sim2er

    sim2er New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    press winkey+D to go to the desktop, if you have one or more windows slected/open, then use alt+F4 as as above. then press the up arrow to reach the desired power option.

    alternately, make a shortcut on your desktop to sleep and press win+D, the first letter of your shortcut, then enter.
     
  11. kurteb

    kurteb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4
    i change the default to sleep, just click start (or use the winkey) and there is the sleep click. (Task Bar and Start Menu Properties/Start Menu/Power button action)
    - they say there's no shortcut for a good night's sleep :)
     
    #11 kurteb, May 4, 2012
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  12. kurteb

    kurteb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4

    i password protect at startup, but not at logon, so there is no password protection with sleep. my dos password blocks anyone from access almost as well as bitlocker - does sleep resume at the logon screen if a logon password is enabled?
     
    #12 kurteb, May 4, 2012
    Last edited: May 4, 2012
  13. Roaoul

    Roaoul New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Win key, right arrow, enter. That's if you've selected sleep as the "power button action" in [taskbar properties, Start Menu, Power Button Action]. Otherwise, hit right arrow twice, then "s".
     
  14. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    KISS:

    Just Rt Clk Bottom-left Corner > Shut Down or Sign Out & hit Sleep.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    290_Windows8_1.
     
  15. benlaf

    benlaf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [SOLVED] I have a Microsoft keyboard 600 and I reassigned the "Calculator" key stroke to a sleep command line.

    To do that:

    1) Download and install Microsoft IntelliType Pro, a free software from Microsoft to customise your keyboard.

    2) Start the application and choose the "Key settings" panel.

    3) Select the "calculator" key name line and press "Configure" button.

    4) In the new window, choose "Start a program, Web page or file" and press "next" button.

    5) Cut and paste this command line in the blank space left to the "browse" button, and press finish:

    "rundll32.exe" powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0


    ***

    P.S : To work correctly, the hibernate mode must be set off.

    To ensure that, open the Run command window from the start menu and type.
    powercfg -hibernate off
     
  16. Drew

    Drew Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    146
    Is this shorter than hitting sleep in the Power Users menu? Or even than Alt+F4? Both of which are available by default.

    Cheers,
    Drew

    290_Windows8_1.
     
  17. perrynillup

    perrynillup New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Key in the following:

    Win Key then R-Arrow then R-Arrow then S
     
  18. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    You could paste the shortcut from this zipfile onto your desktop:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. StanJ

    StanJ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem.
    First, click on the start button, then right click on the arrow beside the bottom Power settings button, and choose the Properties in this context menu. It should be the only one. In that dialog box choose Sleep in the Power button action: field then apply it and click OK.
    Second when you're ready to put your pc to sleep, use the Alt/F4 keyboard shortcut and then hit enter. Voila! Sleeps like a baby.
     

Share This Page

Loading...