Limited Internet Access - Cannot Update Windows, Cannot access ITunes Store Account, DHCPNACK Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by neenie, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new Acer Aspire 4820 notebook
    Fresh factory settings restore installation of Windows 7 Home Premium

    I have local administrator access - 1 user only for this laptop
    Upgraded to IE 9
    Cannot get Windows Updates
    Error received: Windows could not search for new updates
    An error occured while checking for new updates for your computer
    Error(s) found:
    Code 80072EFD - Windows update encountered an unknown error
    Most recent check for updates: Never
    Updates were installed: Never
    Event Log details:
    Log Name: Application
    Source: Windows Error Reporting
    Date: 10/12/2011 11:02:36 AM
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Information
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: Nene-PC
    Description:
    Fault bucket , type 0
    Event Name: WindowsUpdateFailure
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: 0
    Problem signature:
    P1: 7.3.7600.16385
    P2: 80072efd
    P3: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
    P4: Scan
    P5: 101
    P6: Unmanaged
    P7:
    P8:
    P9:
    P10:
    Attached files:
    These files may be available here:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_7.3.7600.16385_6e97ecc1309e8c3d4ef8c137976046be426690a_0c4ddac8
    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: 43490c89-22c2-11e1-a309-001e101f9843
    Report Status: 0
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="Error">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
    <Level>4</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-12-10T00:02:36.000000000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>1866</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Nene-PC</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>WindowsUpdateFailure</Data>
    <Data>Not available</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>7.3.7600.16385</Data>
    <Data>80072efd</Data>
    <Data>00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000</Data>
    <Data>Scan</Data>
    <Data>101</Data>
    <Data>Unmanaged</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\NonCritical_7.3.7600.16385_6e97ecc1309e8c3d4ef8c137976046be426690a_0c4ddac8</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>43490c89-22c2-11e1-a309-001e101f9843</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    Summary Page Events in Event Log shows the following Error:
    Log Name: Microsoft-Windows-Dhcp-Client/Admin
    Source: Microsoft-Windows-Dhcp-Client
    Date: 9/12/2011 11:03:04 PM
    Event ID: 1002
    Task Category: Address Configuration State Event
    Level: Error
    Keywords:
    User: LOCAL SERVICE
    Computer: Nene-PC
    Description:
    The IP address lease 192.168.1.6 for the Network Card with network address 0x90004E5BD8A4 has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.1.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="Error">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Dhcp-Client" Guid="{15A7A4F8-0072-4EAB-ABAD-F98A4D666AED}" />
    <EventID>1002</EventID>
    <Version>0</Version>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>3</Task>
    <Opcode>76</Opcode>
    <Keywords>0x4000000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-12-09T12:03:04.720256700Z" />
    <EventRecordID>14</EventRecordID>
    <Correlation />
    <Execution ProcessID="968" ThreadID="4172" />
    <Channel>Microsoft-Windows-Dhcp-Client/Admin</Channel>
    <Computer>Nene-PC</Computer>
    <Security UserID="S-1-5-19" />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data Name="Address1">100772032</Data>
    <Data Name="HWLength">6</Data>
    <Data Name="HWAddress">90004E5BD8A4</Data>
    <Data Name="Address2">16885952</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>
    OK - so its not just windows updates - I have internet access to a point.
    Itunes Store I keep getting following error when trying to access my account (and the windows
    update error was occuring BEFORFE i installed Itunes. I just think its all linked to the same issue with DHCP because
    I can log in to the Itunes store - I just can't access any of the secure areas of the store.
    There are loads of other errors re DHCP in the event log over the last 24 hours - however I'm trying to narrow it down to specifics.
    HELP????
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    Not sure but my first guess would be MAC address filtering is turned on, on your router.
    Turn it off or add your adapter's physical address into the MAC filter table.
    Could be wrong so, open a command prompt and type
    ipconfig /all >desktop\ipconfig.txt
    hit enter
    that'll put a file on your desktop called ipconfig.txt
    attach it to your next post.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  3. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow! Quick response :) Thanks so much.

    I have attached info you asked for below:
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nene-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : DSL2740B
    Mobile Broadband adapter Mobile Broadband Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HUAWEI Mobile Connect - 3G Network Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-10-1F-18-38
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 60-EB-69-73-16-F4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : DSL2740B
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 802.11n Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-00-4E-5B-D8-A4
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::c9cf:e529:c6:6081%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.69(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 10 December 2011 11:21:40 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 11 December 2011 11:22:29 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 193986638
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-74-85-C4-90-00-4E-5B-D8-A4
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.DSL2740B:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : DSL2740B
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.69%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{5D3C4E96-171A-48A4-AE43-9A9A50AEA9A0}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{6D4F4241-6C6A-44D2-9109-F31C87816569}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:6a:3a8e:c595:aafb(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::6a:3a8e:c595:aafb%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Also, Have given the machine a static IP Address now in DHCP config on modem but still no luck.

    I was about to try a few other things but will wait to see if you agree they may be worth trying:

    1. Turn off all other devices connecting to the modem - incase of a clash?
    2. Reboot this machine as well as modem

    If no luck then

    3. Try connecting this laptop to modem via Ethernet cable?

    and/or

    4. Try connecting to internet on this laptop via a different modem?

    I'm not convinced its my modem - I just tried Windows Update on the netbook (Win 7 Starter) and it worked fine and is now installing updates no problems.

    I'll look forward to hearing back from you :)
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I would entirely support any and all that you can do to minimize and simplify the network to the extent possible.
    I noticed that you don't make any mention of a "router", can you explain what appliance you have in place that connects your computer to the internet?
    Typically
    PC (wireless or wired)->Router (wireless or wired)->ISP provided device (which some people call a modem)->Internet
    I would suggest downing all components including your PC and removing power from router (if you have one) remove power (and battery if applicable) from the ISP device and bring them up in reverse order. ISP provided device, then router, then PC.
    I also like the idea of using an ethernet cable for now and eliminating the wireless adapter and wireless radio in your router or wherever and keep everything strictly copper for now. Make sure the Atheros wired adapter has the latest drivers and for the time being open device manager and temporarily disable your wireless card.
    Use this link and make sure all your drivers are at least the most current Acer is offering Acer Support: Downloads & Support Documents - Notebook / Aspire / Aspire 4820 select you version of Windows 7, perhaps even consider using their Hardware Vendor Detection Utility if needed. Pay particular attention to Chipset, VGA, Audio, LAN, Wireless, even the 3G Module Driver if applicable.
    Does what you are calling a "modem" also serve as a wireless router as well as DHCP server for your network and if so what is it? Manufacturer name, model name, model number, revision number?
     
  5. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I'll try all of the above and let you know.

    In the meantime. Sorry, yes its a wireless modem/router D-Link DSL 2740B.
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Depending on your revision number (C2, C3, F1) you may want to check here to see if there is a firmware update for your specific device.
    D-Link Support Resources
    left colum select = DSL
    right colum select = 2740B
    Then expand downloads, then click Downloads for DSL-2740B. If you own the device. If it is leased through your ISP, I would check with them to see if they will support a firmware update, if it's even applicable since you may already be running the latest, idk.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Additionally since that particular device has been reported to have some issues reliably and dependably forwarding DNS queries you may want to try hard coding preferred and alternate DNS entries into the IPv4 properties of the network adapter you are using.
    As best I can determine from here it looks like yours would be
    203.2.75.2 preferred
    and
    203.2.75.12 alternate
    You can check with your ISP provider to confirm but those look like what optusnet.com.au is using for NameServer1 and NameServer2 (ns1 and ns2)
     
  8. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would this be a problem? Got this error when running some Windows Diagnostics. Time not set correctly is a known problem with iTunes, don't know if its in any way related to any of the other issues though. I don't have a clue how to fix this anyway :0

    Windows Network Diagnostics Publisher details
    Issues found
    The system time is different from your local standard timeThe system time is different from your local standard time Not fixed
    Synchronize your computer clock with your local standard time Failed

    Issues found Detection details
    5 The system time is different from your local standard time Not fixed

    Synchronize your computer clock with your local standard time Failed

    Network Diagnostics Log
    File Name: 5152353F-CD4E-4578-8D82-76B63B9A644C.Repair.Admin.1.etl



    Detection details
    Network Diagnostics Log
    File Name: 5152353F-CD4E-4578-8D82-76B63B9A644C.Diagnose.Admin.0.etl

    Other Networking Configuration and Logs
    File Name: NetworkConfiguration.cab

    Collection information
    Computer Name: NENE-PC
    Windows Version: 6.1
    Architecture: amd64
    Time: Saturday, December 10, 2011 1:58:12 PM \


    This is what I got when running Windows Network diagnostics for Internet Connections also:


    [TABLE="class: info, width: 1"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: heading"]Internet Connections
    [/TD]

    [TD="align: right"]Publisher
    details
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    [TABLE="class: info block"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title, colspan: 3"]Issues found[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD]
    The remote device or resource won't
    accept the connection



    The remote device or resource won't accept the connection
    The device or resource (web proxy) is not set
    up to accept connections on port "The World Wide Web service
    (HTTP)".
    [/TD]

    [TD="width: 90"]
    Detected
    [/TD]

    [TD="width: 20"][​IMG][/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD="colspan: 4, align: right"]
    [TABLE="width: 97%"]


    [TR]

    [TD]
    Contact your network administrator
    [/TD]

    [TD="width: 110, colspan: 2"]

    Completed

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]




    [TABLE="class: info, width: 1"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: heading"]
    Issues found
    [/TD]

    [TD="align: right"]Detection
    details
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD]
    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="width: 20"]
    5
    [/TD]

    [TD="class: title"]The remote device or resource won't
    accept the connection[/TD]

    [TD]
    Detected
    [/TD]

    [TD][​IMG][/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD="class: content"]
    The device or
    resource (web proxy) is not set up to accept connections on port "The World Wide
    Web service (HTTP)".
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD="class: content"]

    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title"]
    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title"]Contact your network
    administrator[/TD]

    [TD="width: 110"]
    Completed
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD]
    The computer
    or device you are trying to reach is available, but it doesn’t support what
    you’re trying to do. This might be a configuration issue or a limitation of the
    device.
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]





    [TABLE="class: info, width: 1"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: heading"]
    Detection details
    [/TD]

    [TD="align: right"]
    [​IMG]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]



    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD]
    [​IMG]

    Network Diagnostics Log
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD]
    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TH]File Name: [/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]BB15482B-2D4F-441C-9C8E-9ACC7C4F22A1.Diagnose.0.etl[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD]
    [​IMG]

    Other Networking Configuration and
    Logs
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD]
    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TH]File Name: [/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]NetworkConfiguration.cab[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title, colspan: 2"]Collection information[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Computer Name: [/TH]

    [TD="class: b2"]NENE-PC[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Windows Version:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]
    6.1
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Architecture:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b2"]
    amd64
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Time:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]
    Saturday, December 10, 2011 1:56:01
    PM
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]






    [TABLE="class: info, width: 1"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: heading"]
    Publisher details
    [/TD]

    [TD="align: right"]
    [​IMG]
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]



    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title, colspan: 2"]Windows Network Diagnostics[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD="colspan: 2"]Detects problems with
    network connectivity.[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Package Version:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]
    1.0
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Publisher:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b2"]
    Microsoft Windows
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    [TABLE="class: info"]


    [TR]

    [TD="class: title, colspan: 2"]Internet Connections[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TD="colspan: 2"]Connect to the Internet or
    to a particular website.[/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Package Version:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b1"]
    1.0
    [/TD]
    [/TR]

    [TR]

    [TH]Publisher:[/TH]

    [TD="class: b2"]
    Microsoft
    Corporation
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]



    Still trouble shooting. Just thought I'd post this extra info incase it alerts someone to something they have seen before. I'm shooting in the dark following every lead I get. I have shut down every device on the network including the D-Link then bought it back up again, then the Acer laptop, so the Acer is now the only computer on the network. No luck

    I'm checking the firmware for the D-Link as suggested as well as Acer driver updates now also. About to connect via ethernet cable to see if that makes any difference too.

    If only I were convinced its a problem with the D-Link :) Why would this not be presenting an issue for any other computers on the network and only the Acer?? But, I don't know what I'm talking about so I'll shut up :)

    I'll keep plugging away. Thanks so much for helping me.

    Nene
     
  9. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    PS. you are great! I'll try hard coding the DNS entries :)
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    There are any number of problems that can come from and incorrect settings as it regards your time, date, and time zone settings.
    Just click the system clock in the far right bottom corner (taskbar, notification area) and choose change date and time settings.
    Use the relative buttons to set your time zone, then your date and time.
    Then select the Internet Time tab and the change settings button
    you can use the drop down arrow to select one of a number of NTP time servers. time.windows.com has generally always worked for me.
    Then click the update now button.
    I noticed in the info you posted above a mention of a proxy server issue. I'm betting that you don't need one, so make sure you don't have one configured, just on the off chance that any of that info is pertinent to the issue at hand.
    For IE9, hit the alt key on your keyboard to evoke the menu bar and then from the tools menu select internet options.
    Select the Connections tab
    Click the LAN settings button
    Uncheck all the boxes and click OK.
    Close and reopen IE9.
     
  11. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh My GOD! After completely reconfiguring the D-Link and spending HOURS trying to troubleshoot this problem! You beautiful wonderful most excellent man! LAN settings! I checked and re-checked these but they were set to "Automaticallly detect" I'm used to seeing this for my work computer which runs through a proxy so kept thinking "No, thats ok"! As soon as I updated Internet time and deselected the LAN Settings "Automatically detect" Windows Updates worked, I am about to test Itunes but I'm certain all is fixed now! I'm still going to update the firmware on my D-Link - thanks for the tip! Bloody hell! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!!!!!!! xxxx
     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    More likely the time, date and time zone.
    Usually leaving that auto detect box check cause only a brief delay in loading the browser, it will perform an unnecessary check for a proxy server and finding none will generally go ahead and load but I still always recommend unchecking all the boxes.
    And if you are sure that things are fine now then I would hold off on the firmware update on the DSL router, as a bad flash of the firmware can brick the thing (not good) so if things are working fine, I'd leave well enough alone, unless you're like me and just have to make sure that everything is the latest and greatest.
    Anyhow glad to hear you're apparently sorted. Thanks for joining our community and we hope to continue to see you around the forum.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  13. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha! Yes! I am obsessive about updates :) but will hold off on firmware as advised :)

    Thanks once again :)
     
  14. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya. I'll try to keep my temper in check :)

    Finally managed to get everything working beautifully on the new Acer Aspire 2840. Went ahead and updated Windows 7 using Windows Update - which included Service Pack 1.

    On next start up I get a black screen then eventually an error message saying something like Atheros blah blah (ethernet)blah blah - basically saying its trying to boot from Ethernet

    Also said "Check Cable Connection" and refered to the IDEO WDC WD6400 drive - telling me the hard drive was not "there".

    Checked Bios for boot order - all good.

    Noticed in BIOS there is no detail for the IDE Drive and think ok I'll reseat the drive and see what happens - probably a hardware problem because I have had them mulitiple times with Acer notebooks (no offence Acer but its true!).

    Next I get all excited cause it looks as Windows 7 is starting - but it sits forever then performs a checkdisk which takes forever and then on restart black screens again.

    I check the Acer E-Recovery tool - the options for system restore are greyed out.
    I run a startup repair - cannot automatically fix message.

    I try rebooting a few times and occassionally I get to Windows is starting up then nothing.

    I check Bios and now "da da" IDE is showing up in the BIOS - details are IDEO WDC WD6400 BEUT-00A0RT0.

    Then I notice a few things online talking about problems with Acer laptops, these IDE Drives and Windows 7. Could it be a driver issue following Windows service Pack 1 installation??

    Can anyone assist me cause I have no idea, if it is a driver problem rather than a hardware fault - how to update a driver without starting up windows.

    Yes - I will call Acer Product Support but I know they will just want me to send the notebook back to them and it will take a million years to get no where when it may be something simple I can resolve with the help of the wonderful people in this forum.

    Also - I had just downloaded a gazzillion precious pics and videos of my two kids before this happened and hadn't had a chance to back them up! Grrr.... Any tips on whether I can remove the drive and recover the data via an enclosure - ie. what kind of enclosure should I use and/or is there another way potentially to recover the data DIY style rather than paying someone else a fortune to do it?

    Cheers

    N
     
  15. neenie

    neenie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Managed to replicate one of the error messages when trying to boot:

    For Atheros PCIE Ethernet Controller v2.0.1.9(12/15/09)

    Check cable connection!
    PXE-MOF: Exiting Intel PXE ROM.
    No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key
     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I have found that USB adapters such as the ones listed on this page have proved valuable in recovering data from drives that will no longer boot (assuming there is nothing physically wrong with the drive). Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, usb ide sata adapter
    I own the VanTec model listed at the top of the page and have found that one to work reliably. Perhaps you could find a local vendor that has something similar.

    Have you tried F8 key during POST to evoke the advanced boot option menu to see if you can use either
    Last Known Good
    or
    Safe Mode?
    Additionally you may want to try some of the advanced repair options which may help
    http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-support/6206-startup-repair-boot-cant-get-desktop-2.html#post245286
    However I would strongly recommend taking steps to retrieve and backup you critical data first as anything you do that exercises the drive (if it is failing physically) may exacerbate the problem.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  17. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    My bios has an option to disable the PXE ROM. It will be in different places for different manufacturers, but make sure and scroll down to the bottom of pages to see if it is there.

    I am assuming you do not boot from a network......
     

Share This Page

Loading...