Local Area Connection With Win7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by WaYtOoLoW, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. WaYtOoLoW

    WaYtOoLoW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just took one of my blank hard drives and put it into my compaq presario desktop computer and formated windows 7 ultimate onto it. i have it setup as a daul boot computer. i have xp home edition on one drive and win7 on the new drive. i am not having any issues out of xp with the LAC. it picks up the router and has internet access and all. However Win7 did not automatically install drivers for my network card. (it is not wireless, its plugged through a ethernet cable) i inserted the manufacturers cd that came with the network card and installed the drivers. it's a netgear. that picked up the card and made it reconize a network connection. it reads it as a unidentified network, so it's receiving the network connection but has no internet access. when the system trouble shoots the issue, it comes back to "local area connection" has no valid ip configuration. what is the cause of this and does anyone know of a solution? i've been researching it for a couple days now and i see its a common issue but nobody's was exactly like mine so i can't figure out anything to do about it. i want to use windows 7 badly but it's no point without the internet. i'll take all the help i can get.

    i use verizon dsl, and on my moms laptop the network name is the serial number on the bottom of the router, it supports wireless and ethernet cables so. maybe that will help also.
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Go to Start > Run, and type cmd,. Now type ping Google.com

    Do you get any reply back?

    Have you reset the router.

    Run ipconfig /all from command prompt paste that information here
     
  3. WaYtOoLoW

    WaYtOoLoW New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, i have reset the router several times and with no luck. i've check cables changed cables, installed updated network card drivers. still nothing. i ran the cmd prompt and did the ping Google.com and it came back with "Ping request could not find the host Google.com. Please check the name and try again. and her is my results for the ipconfig.

    C:\Users\The Coffey's>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : TheCoffeys-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NETGEAR FA311/FA312 PCI Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-09-5B-61-E4-DB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3cb8:41bc:ef9a:3d8d%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.61.141(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234883419
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-A1-02-35-00-09-5B-61-E4-DB

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{CF8339E8-C4C6-4C15-A069-932ED223A247}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\The Coffey's>


    let see if this helps us figure it out, thanks for the help!
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    You have a local IP
    '
    I would call your ISP
     

Share This Page

Loading...