locks up

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by dtandukar, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. dtandukar

    dtandukar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, my vista locks up after 1 minute or so and i can do nothing, i have to shutdown it with the power button. how do i solve this problem?

    regards,
    Deependra
     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi!!! Can you tell me exactly when this problem started ? Did you down load any new programs for example?? There several things that can cause the problem, sometimes something simple like a conflicting new program can be the culprit. In which case it should be removed or make a restore point. Sincerely, Celestra
     
  3. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi dtandukar

    There could be many reasons why this is happening.
    What version of Vista are you running and what are the specs. of your rig?.
    Has this problem only started after upgrading or installing new hardware or software?
    Give as much info. about the problem as you can !
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,816
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Ditto.... More info is needed before we can help you dtandukar..
    Welcome to the forum by the way :D
     
  5. dtandukar

    dtandukar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, here is the details:

    system:
    Dell Latitude D530
    Windows vista business
    RAM: 2GB
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz, 2001 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)


    The problem started after once I had to shutdown the system with power button. Nothing else i could recall I did.

    Best,
    Deependra
     
  6. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi!! Do you use more than one anti-virus program?? The Dells have something funny to system lock-up. There are also problems with Microsoft Windows R. Dell does not recommend that you shut down the way you did, unless absolutely necessary because of data loss. There are Dell Support articles that you may want to read. #286481 Multiple Antivirus Programs May Cause System Lock-Up. # 317983 How do I close a program that has stopped responding in Microsoft Windows R. - Does the mouse move at all across the screen ? Press the<Alt> key once and then the <Down Arrows> a few times. (Check Dell for common symptoms and problems in Microsoft Windows) Sincerely, Celestra Good Luck (P.S. To be on the safe side, have Norton give your computer a free virus scan.)
     
  7. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi dtandukar

    Can you tell me if Vista Business was preinstalled or did you upgrade from other vista version.
    Also what Security software are you running i.e..anti-virus, firewall, anti-spyware etc.
     
  8. hi, it was preinstalled and i have avg that as antivirus.

    best,
    deependra
     
  9. superbill

    superbill New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi deependra

    You might find from a little research on other forums that there were problems in the past with vista versions using AVG security software i.e. anti-virus
    I can't say if they have all been resolved but it might be worthwhile switching it off or even uninstalling it to see if vista still locks up.
    If you uninstall it you can substitute Avast free edition which is just as effective as AVG .
    Perhaps some other forum members out there have had a similar problem??
    Let deependra know
     
  10. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    :) Hi!!!! I'm glad to hear you're alright, I was reading that article Kemical submitted about all the different viruses running around, and I thought what if that person has a virus- and they're locked up bad somewhere. Limping from website to website. If you remove your current anti-virus protection and replace it with another, and that still doesn't work. You might check your current Internet provider, they also carry anti-virus protection which may be setting your computer off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...