Logitec Mouse Needs Driver

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by vahnx, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. vahnx

    vahnx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Windows XP, Any Linux, and Windows Vista use my Logitec V220 USB Cordless mouse fine when I plug it in. Detects driver and everything. Windows 7 requires the Logitec SetPoint software which causes my mouse settings not to save when I reboot! Anyone know how I can get my mouse working without the SetPoint software?
     
  2. armus75

    armus75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    i use setpoint without problems. downloaded the vista version, installed and set up fine. then in w7 it updated it again. my custom keys work the same as always. new version is 4.70.213
     
  3. vahnx

    vahnx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    But why do you need the setpoint software in 7 and in any other OS (XP, Vista, Ubuntu, Sabayon, etc.) works fine without the software?
     
  4. armus75

    armus75 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    sure it works without but i map the buttons to key strokes for a game, EQ2. may not be needed for normal operation but I haven't found too many uses for about 4 buttons on my cordless trackman.
     
    loathe and (deleted member) like this.
  5. vahnx

    vahnx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    My specific V220 does not work in 7 without the SetPoint software.
     
  6. SPIRITLINK

    SPIRITLINK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    power down.install both wired and wireless mouse.boot up.use the wired mouse to get to the device manager.if you have a wired ethernet connection,you can let windows update search the net for the driver if windows 7 did recognize the usb device.you may also be able to install the software from the driver cd with the wired mouse.
     
  7. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    I got the newest Setpoint drivers from logitech for my G5 and installed in compatibility mode and it updated itself again as armus75 said. They work fine, Ive always used them and I couldnt imagine wanting to use anything else
     

Share This Page

Loading...