Windows 7 Lord of the Rings Battle for middle earth II Problem

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by noelian14, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    System specs

    Intel core 2 duo 2.20 ghz
    NviDea Geforce 9400GT 512mb
    3gb ram
    250gb hdd

    hope that supplied my system specs

    My problem is when i run LOTR II with latest patch....and start campaign or skirmish the buildings characters etc are always invisible except the map elements like trees and flags :(

    when i enter the main menu...all i see is water falling with mist and birds flying and the rest are black screen (edit) :(
     
    #1 noelian14, Apr 16, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2012
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi Noelian, what are your system drivers like? I'd update to the latest versions unless already done so. Also check the LOTR website they may have an FAQ which might help.
     
  3. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    my drivers were updated recently...including vid card driver...directx was updated to the latest version of directx9 (as its mostly used of games like this)
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Are you running the game with any mods or additions attached?
     
  5. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope im not running any mods
     
  6. Dangaioh

    Dangaioh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    48
    Have you tried changing in-game settings like screen size, the amount of detail i.e.; low, medium, high, custom settings, etc.?
     
  7. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep in low....there will be just a picture but the buildings once im in skirmish is still invisible :)
     
  8. Dangaioh

    Dangaioh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    48
    :( , I presume you tried changing screen size, refresh rate and XP compatibility mode.
     
  9. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope...i just installed..then it went crashing...so i herd patch fixes this in win7 systems so i patched it to v1.06 and tried opening it...it run..i saw the intro movie...then entered menu...i see waterfall water flowing...backgrounds is black...tried playing skirmish and all buildings are invisible.... sorry if i cant put a screenshot cause whenever i try to print screen or take in game screenshot and paste it to paint...only my desktop appears
     
  10. Dangaioh

    Dangaioh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    48
    Try compatibility mode, changing refresh rate, and screen size in game. See what turns up.

    I do have the same game, I haven't installed it yet, though I should to see if this also occurs in my system.
     
  11. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried compatibility mode =win xp sp3, refresh rate still 60hz (cant change it) then opened game changed resolution to 1024x768 , changed my pc resolution to 1024x768, tried to open game again still the same ,
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I'd try a different GPU driver or find a game related forum and see what others are using driver wise. Some drivers are known to be better for certain games and this could certainly be true in your case...
     
  13. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    can u recommend me a driver for
    NVIDEA GeForce 9400 GT
    Driver version
    8.17.12.9610 (based in device manager properties)
     
  14. Dangaioh

    Dangaioh Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    48
    Do you recall if this game ran without issues? If so, do you remember what year/month? Reason, this should help atleast narrow down the drivers that were published at that time frame.

    Also, recommend using driver sweeper, for removing and prior to installing new drivers.
     
  15. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    the game ran without issues during windows vista service pack 1 (win vista was still new with sp1 no sp2 released yet) around year 2010 of February i still played it until
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    You can find a whole heap of Nvidia driver downloads here: download from Guru3D.com
     
  17. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay thanks...and thnx for all the help :)
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    No problem, glad to help :). Good luck with the driver hunt..
     
  19. noelian14

    noelian14 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh hehehe...anyway topic closed :) thnx :D
     
  20. aadamjohnsons

    aadamjohnsons New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your system requirement are compatible and enough with respect to game Lord of the rings battle for middle earth two. I think you have some another hardware or improper patch problem.
    [h=2][/h]
     

Share This Page

Loading...