Macrium Reflect - PE Restore Disc loads but will not recognize USB 2.0 External HDD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by monotune, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. monotune

    monotune New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trialing Macrium Reflect because of its good reputation. I have a simple requirement. Backup to external hard drive (WD Passport), it is USB 2.0. Then use the Windows PE rescue CD to boot up and restore from external HDD. I have been researching this. I know about the lack of USB 3.0 support. But my drive is USB 2.0.

    Could some experienced users please chime in? Shouldn't I be seeing this external hard drive when I load the Windows PE rescue disk.

    Unfortunately I am reluctant to purchase the program without this basic ability being demonstrated in the free version ... so I have no access to Macrium support for this.

    Please somebody? Any ideas?

    Thanks so much! :razz:
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    It maybe a driver issue. Is your Windows fully updated? Does Macrium have a separate updated ISO for the boot CD? Acronis periodically updates that separate from the actual program.
    Joe
     
  3. monotune

    monotune New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply Joe. Windows is fully updated and fully supports the WD Passport drive. It is an older machine so I know the passport is operating in USB 2.0 mode at least and as I said I am pretty sure it is not a USB 3.0 passport. I bought it 8 months ago at least. When I ran the rescue CD wizard in Macrium Reflect it updated files itself, I saw it do that. Also Macrium Reflect itself is updated to the latest version.

    This could be a driver issue though, it just seems like these are very very basic drivers that would be included. I should try loading the rescue media with a simple flash drive. I will do that.

    In the meantime I downloaded and tried Paragon Backup and Recovery 2012 FREE and made a restore disc which is Linux/DOS based. This time the external hard drive appeared okay. So it is doing something different, it has the drivers I guess. I last left it claiming 20+hrs for the backup of 63GB which seems high, is it? How long does it take to backup a system I am wondering now. I remember Macrium seemed quicker.

    My questions now then are:

    If you need to inject drivers for a WD Passport External HDD what are the drivers needed? Where do you get them?

    How long should the backup take? 60+GB being an example.

    Thanks to all who may help!
    monotune:confused:
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    With Acronis that size takes about half an hour at most to a USB 2 drive. If this is a desktop try using a port on the back sometimes on old machines the ports on front are USB 1.
    Joe
     
  5. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    I would strongly recommend you try Acronis TI. I have relied on it for years and consider it the bet in its field. It is not expensive and you can download a fully working trial copy.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. monotune

    monotune New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the ports on the front. I will move them to the back. I was not able to wait for Paragon Backup and Recovery 2012 FREE to finish so I don't know for sure what the backup time was. I will experiment with it. WHS sent me a Macrium ISO of his own which I am going to try also. I will trial Acronis as well.

    I am very happy to be part of this community, thank you for your advice! :razz:
    Marc
     
  7. monotune

    monotune New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the recommendation Pat. Would you recommend the latest version of TI, or is there a particular version. I recall they have several packages. I see TrueImage 2013 is 40% off this weekend which is a good deal if it works ($29.95). I will try that.

    Best Regards,
    Marc
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    As in most packages I'd just go for the latest to get the best support. Acronis do have quite good pricing deals. I also found when I bought mine online that when I tried to go back from the final step of purchasing I got a popup asking me if I as really sure about not finalising the transaction and offering me another 10% off if I proceeded! Don't know if it still does that ;)
     
  9. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I'm still using Acronis TI 2010 I boot from CD and make image or restore that way. I have my HD partitioned with system on one and data on the other.
    Joe
     
  10. monotune

    monotune New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. Thanks for the reply. I think this is the setup I would do for personal stuff. The system I am figuring this all out on is a client system and non techie people have a tough time maintaining more than a single partition system it seems to me. They just put it all on c: and it does not confuse them this way. Once I have tried all suggestions I will post an update. Thanks to all for the helpful comments!

    Marc
     

Share This Page

Loading...