Mainly caused by ntoskrnl.exe , dxgmm1.sys , atikmdag.sys

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Secumfex, Jul 10, 2011.

  1. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm getting an abundant amount of BSODs while gaming, for quite some time now. It's basicly bound to happen, everytime I play a game, after 15 to 45 minutes.

    How ever, it may (even though by far less frequently) happen while surfing.

    The BSODs Names range from SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION over PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA to BAD_POOL_HEADER , which occur most frequently.

    I attached the minidumps from the last few days.

    The files or services that BlueScreenView suggests to have caused the BSOD are mainly the following:
    - atikmdag.sys
    - ntoskrnl.exe
    - win32k.sys
    - dxgmms1.sys
    - dxgkrnl.sys

    As a layman I'd say this sounds a lot like GPU / GPU Driver related errors, plus, it mainly happens while playing GPU heavy games (BFBC2, GTA4 at the moment).

    Steps I have done so far:
    - Deinstalled Pen Tablet Drivers (BSODs occured somewhat from the same time)
    - Deinstalled NIS
    - Deinstalled ATI CCC and Installed ATI Drivers without CCC
    - Deinstalled Daemon Tools
    - Ran memtestx86 (2 runthroughs - no errors)
    - Ran check disk (no errors)
    - Ran system drivers check (no errors)
    - Swapped RAM Slots
    - Took 1 RAM out
    - Swapped remaining RAM with one i took out
    - Put both back in
    - Checked all fans are running
    - Watched temperatures while playing (not even close to 60 or 55 C° , so no overheating at all)

    I'm running out of ideas, I'd love to hear if anyone has any advice left for me to try out.
    I did not yet convince myself it'd be a good idea to replace ntsokrnl.exe even though some websites advise it.
    May it also be my hard disks dying? Or may it even be a late Windows 7 Update causing the trouble (I have read many posts like mine elsewhere lately)?

    Since I guess it's a driver issue, can someone point out to me, which ones I should update/remove/reinstall and howI should do that?

    CPU-Z Screencaps:
    View attachment 15122View attachment 15123View attachment 15124View attachment 15125View attachment 15121

    The latest Dump being:
    View attachment 15128

    I'm not overclocking anything, haven't changed any BIOS settings, but also never updated it since I got the new hardware somewhen 2010 (?).

    Basic PC Specs:
    Windows 7 64-bit Service Pack 1 (didnt notice that until now... are there newer SPs?)
    ASRock H55M Pro - Mainboard
    Intel Core i5 750 - CPU
    2x GEIL 2GB CL7-7-7 DDR3-1333 (I'm wondering whether my Frequencys are correct?) - RAM
    Radeon HD5770 - GPU

    Is there anything else I should post for further information?



    Edit: thanks for moving =)
     
    #1 Secumfex, Jul 10, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It does seem to be related to a video driver situation. I suppose looking for ATI drivers/catalyst might be required.

    Do you run Steam when playing the games? If so, it seems to update quit ofter, has yours?

    Any chance your system is getting hot?

    You do have one older driver I can see that is irsir.sys and is from Microsoft and tied to an IR serial input, but might be an XP driver. Do you know if anything you have uses it? This does not mean it is involved in the situation, but something to check.
     
  3. zigzag3143

    zigzag3143 Honorable Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    812
    Likes Received:
    115
    It does "feel" like a video issue but the bugcheck indicates a bad pool caller (memory). Can you please run these two tests to diagnose.


    Download a copy of Memtest86 and burn the ISO to a CD using Iso Recorder or another ISO burning program.

    Boot from the CD, and leave it running for at least 5 or 6 passes.

    Just remember, any time Memtest reports errors, it can be either bad RAM or a bad motherboard slot.

    Test the sticks individually, and if you find a good one, test it in all slots.



    Driver verifier


    Old drivers that could use updating
    Code:
    irsir.sys    1/19/2008 2:36:11 AM        fffff880`02dde000    fffff880`02dea000    0x0000c000    0x47919a5b                        
    Rt64win7.sys    2/26/2009 5:04:13 AM        fffff880`07200000    fffff880`07232000    0x00032000    0x49a65b0d                        
    GEARAspiWDM.sys    5/18/2009 8:17:04 AM        fffff880`07c99000    fffff880`07ca6000    0x0000d000    0x4a1151c0                        
    
    
    How To Find Drivers:
    - - The most common drivers are listed on this page: Driver Reference http://www.carrona.org/dvrref.html
    - - Driver manufacturer links are on this page: http://www.carrona.org/drvrdown.html
     
  4. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    @zigzag1343
    So I ran Memtest again, while being away for some 4 hours or so.

    Looks like I do indeed have some faulty memory in there:
    P1040963.

    How ever, I ran it with both RAM Sticks attached, so I guess next I'll have to do the Test again, with only one RAM-Stick attatched, right?

    If errors occur I'll try the second RAM Stick. Then try different Slots, in case errors still occur.

    Is there any other information I might get from Memtest?
    Does this result already point out that my problems are irreparable hardware defects?
    If so, should I still run Driver Verifier? The method described seems quite harsh to the system with possibilty to ruin it altogether?

    @saltgrass
    Yes I already reinstalled ATI Drivers, both with and without Catalyst Control Center. It didn't help.

    I do run Steam while playing, but I don't really get your question, sorry. Is it whether Steam tends to quit updates? Or whether it DID quit an update? Both, no not as far as I can remember, specifically.

    I do not believe my system is getting hot while playing, at least if HWMonitor and the BIOS show valid information. Its case is open aswell, so i don't think it's getting not enough air to breathe.

    ---

    I'll keep you posted, thanks for your advice :)

    ---

    edit: ---nvm the stupid question that stood here---

    My Ram are these http://www.geil.com.tw/products/showSpec/id/125

    I've read elsewhere that it may aswell be a problem related to their voltages, which are set at 1.5V. They may have to be set higher, for the RAM to be able to cope with the accessing speed of CPU / Mainboard. Again, sounds like voodoo to me.
     
    #4 Secumfex, Jul 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  5. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    In your bios can you change your memories command rate to 2T and then run the memtest again please.
     
  6. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Memtest had 6 runs without any errors with only one RAM stick in slot #1.

    ---
    @nmsuk
    Now, I put the other RAM Stick back in slot #3, changed Command Rate from "Auto" to 2T, and I am running memtest again.
     
  7. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    I was reading in the manual for your motherboard that for best compatiblity for 2 sticks of ram to use the white mem slots.
     
  8. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, that's where my sticks are located since i got the hardware. It's the slots A1 (#1) and B1(#3).
    The system wouldn't even start at all, if I used A2(#2) and B2(#4) (blue slots). I already tried that while looking for a solution myself (trying out different DIMM slots).

    With 2T activated, I have currently 5 Passes on Memtest without any errors, but two DIMMs attatched. I'll let it complete the 6th run, though.

    edit: 6th Pass completed with no errors, how ever another BSOD while playing occured. So 2T activation wasn't the problem.
    I'm now updating the drivers that need updating, i might removie that Gearaspiwdm.sys, though, as it does have a reputation concerning BSODs. Also, it came with itunes...
     

    Attached Files:

    #8 Secumfex, Jul 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  9. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Lets hope it passes pass 6 then and if not back to the troubleshooting :)
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    @Secumfex;
    Sounds like you are making good progress and on the right track. But don't neglect to tend to the drivers listed above in Zigzag's post especially the very old RealTek driver for your network adapter.
    Rt64win7.sys 2/26/2009 5:04:13 AM
    You should be able to find one with a 2011 date.
    Take a look here Realtek
    See if your card is listed. If not, determine which card you have and use the realtek site to obtain the latest.
     
  11. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh boy, i just updated the Realtek driver, deinstalled Itunes (which took GEARAspiWDM.sys with it), and also deactivated the irsir.sys driver, which is distributed through windows updates and therefore doesnt seem to have a download site or update site or whatever. I'm not using InfraRed Devices anyways.

    I also used verifier, and rebooted, now my system is SLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWW, I guess that's what verifier does?

    How exactly am I going to find out how that helps me finding the faulty driver?
    Will it probably be the driver the file that the then generated minidump will hint at?
     
    #11 Secumfex, Jul 12, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
  12. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    It stresses the drivers out and if it bsods the mini dump will tell us hopefully which driver failed. It may not crash though which is what we really want ot happen.
     
  13. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't have much time the last days to do any further testing, but regular usage of the computer did not show errors anymore.

    Since last post, I stopped verifier only some minutes after posting. From then on, I did not encounter any more BSODs while using the PC for either working or playing. Even after an hour or two, I did not encounter any BSOD. Therefore, I believe that the problem has been solved. =)

    My last steps that solved it were the following (as posted above):
    I updated the Realtek driver, deactivated the irsir.sys driver (Infrared driver) and deinstalled Itunes alongside GEARAspiWDM.sys.
    I reactivated irsir.sys after some time.

    My final verdict is:GEARAspiWDM.sys was the driver which caused the error.

    As Gear Software points out itself, the old version of the driver does have a security flaw, that enables access to NT Kernel (which did cause my BSODs often ):

    So installing the latest Version of the driver is mandatory for all users who have the old driver installed (which is not compatible with win7 anyways).

    http://www.gearsoftware.com/

    If I'm mistaken, and the problem still occurs, I'll post again then :D

    Up until then, thank you very much for your support. =)


    Edit: Nope, I was wrong. I'm still getting BSODs, the problem has not been solved yet.
     
    #13 Secumfex, Jul 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  14. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Here's hoping :) Good luck.
     
  15. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope false alert, still getting BSODs.

    I'm going to try the driver verifier method again, see if i can find the faulty driver.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Could you if possible post pics of you memory settings voltage and timings please. CPUZ each tab will do. My thinking is each stick is stable and we know each slot is ok too. This to me looks like a bios configuration and memory timings error with multiple sticks.
     
    #16 nmsuk, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  17. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Hi Secumfex,

    Your Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller still pre-dates Windows 7, Rt64win7.sys Thu Feb 26 09:04:13 2009, I'd get this updated. New version is v7.046

    Also:

    Norton is known to be a cause of BSOD's on Windows 7 systems. I suggest that you uninstall Norton through the normal methods and then run the Norton Removal Tool in Safe Mode. Download Blue Screen friendly Microsoft Security Essentials as its replacement. Make sure Windows firewall is enabled!

    Once Bluescreens are resolved feel free to retry Norton, though personally, I wouldn't from the problems I've seen it cause.
     
  18. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh man -.- . I really thought I'd have gotten the newest drivers. Turns out I fetched the wrong one (from different sites all stating i'd be the newest and updated June 2011). I've now gotten the correct one after hurdling through Realtek's website.

    I realized that even though I did update it, the date would stay the same, so I guessed it'd be the latest one after all. Thanks for making me look that up once more ;).

    I really don't hope Norton is the troublemaker, since I bought another year of service some weeks ago.
    I had it uninstalled for the last couple of days ( even though problems reoccured), so I reinstalled it again.
    But as long as problems are present, I figure it'd be a good idea to have it uninstalled for now.

    Will proceed with your advice now.

    ----------------------

    Edit: Remaining CPU-Z Screens attatched
    4.JPG 1.JPG 5.JPG 2.JPG 3.JPG
     
    #18 Secumfex, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  19. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Let's just say that Norton is known to cause problems on many systems. So are many others AV's.
    However MSE isn't. Why? Well Microsoft will make sure that their AV will use the correct "Security Algorithms" used by their Windows 7 system, which is totally different to Vista and has no relationship to XP whatsoever. A lot of the AV companies are still trying to catch up.
    So by using MSE while you are having problems removes one more variable.
     
    #19 Elmer, Jul 16, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  20. Secumfex

    Secumfex New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope that didn't solve the problem, either.

    Neither the new Realtek driver, nor uninstalling Norton (complete with Norton Removal Tool) helped.

    Here's the new dump
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Loading...