March 2008 Desktop Showroom

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by ArchTech, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. ArchTech

    ArchTech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys!

    Post here your current desktop screenshots for March 2008...
    You are free to post whether your using Vista, XP, Mac OS X, Linux, etc.

    heres mine ;)
    [​IMG]
    [size=xx-small](note that this is Windows XP with VTP)[/size]

    now showoff your proudly desktop...CHEEERS :cool:
     
  2. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    Here is my laptop's desktop.

    [attachment=26]
     
  3. temur

    temur New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    March 2008 Desktop :whistling:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
  5. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hmm, mix of Leopard and XP... looks nice.
     
  6. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Small memory imprint too.
    I only run at like 150 MB Running the UI and launchbar.
    Compared to with a sidebar; 280 MB + with the vista sidebar; 410 MB.
     
  7. ArchTech

    ArchTech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    simple and clean but nice :) I wonder the icons of iPhotos...what app is that btw? I think not really an iPhoto...
    Vista has a lot of memory to eat than with simple xp with launchbar...I like your galss reflection skin of launchbar...I could not find like that for my RocketDock :p
     
  8. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    It's photoshop, not iPhoto.
    And as for Vista, I'm not talking about 410 MB in Vista with the sidebar, I'm saying I got the vista sidebar, and ported it to XP, and it STILL used 410 MB after boot, with nothing unneccessary running.

    My launchbar is called "RKLauncher". It kicks ass.
     
  9. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, here is how my desktop is on my vista powered desktop:

    [attachment=28]

    btw, Vista uses around 1.12GB of memory, but that's with 2 account open, and several apps running. I can get that down to 220 or so on my laptop.
     
  10. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    I can slim vista WAY down. But the point is, most people can't do that. They're home users, who get stuck with bloat.

    Oh, and nice background. Linky?
     
  11. the_blue_master

    the_blue_master New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    heres a screenie of memory use in vista. i have 2gb so it works out about 950mb in use

    [attachment=29]
     
  12. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Look at all the crap you're running too.
     
  13. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, here is the link to the wallpaper here. http://frnak.deviantart.com/art/Windows-Se7en-Pack-1-50921443
     
  14. the_blue_master

    the_blue_master New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    excuse me i dont run crap i run rivatuner mbm avg leetsig and logitech wingman thats it and i use all of them so :p
     
  15. the_blue_master

    the_blue_master New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    That's crap.
    Anything running in the background that isn't used the whole time it's running is crap. It also slows your system.

    Nothing starts and runs in the background of my computer. Which makes it faster.
     
  17. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have quite a few things that run in the background, I8kfangui, skype, eset nod32, wlm, and tor. They all start up with my PC.
     
  18. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    I don't need an antivirus, and I have an adaptive hardware firewall.
    As for the rest, if I need it, I'll start it.
     
  19. the_blue_master

    the_blue_master New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    2
    to tell you the truth im not too bothered about what is running in the background i dont get much extra speed from closing everthing so im not arsed i leave it in the background cos i download a lot of stuff while im on games so i like to know im safe while im playing plus its exactly that attitude that got my computer screwed last time. all it takes is for one little shit to get lucky and your screwed
     
  20. ArchTech

    ArchTech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm...looks your running Ubuntu, I have an Ubuntu CD but not a Live CD just installer, can I install Ubuntu without altering my Windows and maybe without 3rd-party software :whistling: just asking....
    BTW I like that black Lamborghini Murciélago :p ....black theme :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...