Massive Problem (cant access HD)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by e2blade, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. e2blade

    e2blade New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, i am having a extremely alarming problem, i can not access my external HDD!!

    I had bitlocked it, which was EXTREMELY stupid, and 93% into the encryption, it decided to stop, and now it just gives me an error to keep checking the disk

    i could just pause it before it had an error and access my HD just fine, now i can access it but i can go any further into my subfiles.

    thing is, when a run chkdsk on drive I nothing happens. it says they are RAW files and cannot lock the drive. i can get into the HDD but then after it says

    "I/O device error,

    please dont tell me i gotta reformat this stupid thing
    my LAST LAST LAST resort is to take it to best buy and have them rip a pretty penny out of my pocket.
    i am freaking out, because all of my pictures are on there, and i am a pro photographer!!!!

    i can provide screen shots of everything if u dont know the problem specifically
     
  2. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I am unfamiliar with bit locker but as a complete shot in the dark have you tried a program such as "power data recovery" ?

    I find it's very powerful and use it a lot for recovering formatted partitions and corrupted drives and SSD's etc so I don't know but it may work the same for a bit locked drive ;)
     
  3. e2blade

    e2blade New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    the program freezes while scanning my hd LOL
     
  4. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    how far does it get and has it recovered anything ?
     
  5. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    could you run partition wizard then post a screenshot just to see where the data is stored and if the partition is intact ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...