Massive problems!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Octose, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    So recently I had to purchase a new HDD due to massive BSOD's due to an unknown corruption or trojan.

    Today I installed a brand new Western Digital BLack Caviar drive and everything worked flawlessly until I started downloading files (specifically those for my security, i.e. avast, norton, microsoft security essentials, malwarebytes).

    The files downloaded fine with different browsers until they were in the extraction/installation phase. Every download turned into a "file is corrupt" or "failed to extract" error message.

    I'm sure it's not a reuter issue, but a hardware/software issue. Anyone know any possibilites to fixing this dreaded issue? This PC has given me days of grief -_-
     
  2. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump! please guys, anyone who could help would be great! I really need to get this fixed as I leave for College in a few days!
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    First of all you have not included any system specs so no one can possibly know where to begin http://windows7forums.com/blue-screen-death-bsod/71079-help-us-help-you-filling-your-system-specs.html#post232063
    Second how are you downloading the files? Try using Firefox and see if behaves any better.
    Try downloading the files using safemode with networking and see if the problem persists.
    Don't use multiple AV products simultaneously. Uninstall all and use the vendor specific proprietary removal tool if available Security Software | SingularLabs or Google for it.
    Use MSE from here Spyware Protection | Free Spyware Protection | Microsoft Security Essentials
    And you can augment that with MalwareBytes Pro from here if you like, Malwarebytes not too expensive considering it's a lifetime license.
    Finally we can take a closer look if you'd like
    Click start and type
    msinfo32
    hit enter
    IN the resultant window click file-> save
    Pick a place to save it (Desktop)
    give it a name (system.nfo)
    Zip it up and attach it to your next post and we'll see if we can spot any glaring problems.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  4. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (Home Premium OEM System Builder Pack)
    ASRock Extreme 3 Gen 3
    i5-2500k (currently stock speeds)
    American Megatrends Inc. P1.20, 11/7/2011
    8gb 4x2 @ Stock 1600 speeds (this won't show in the msinfo fyi because I pull my RAM back in) - by GSkill (Ripjaws Gaming Series RAM to be precise)
    GTX570 Superclocked by EVGA at Stock Speeds
    No idea on Manufacturer (came with my old DELL) - 700Ws

    I can't download Firefox's .exe because it says File is Corrupt - I managed to download Chrome successfully though as it just runs itself upon hitting the download button - still, file's are corrupt.

    As for the other stuff - Downloads don't work in Safe Mode either, says "File is Corrupt" or "failed to extract". I've also tried loading .exe's through a USB - never loads itself.

    I can't download MSE or Malware Bytes due to this stuff.


     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    If you have another machine or can get some help from a friend, relative or neighbor, grab a blank CD and this program What is Windows Defender Offline?
    The program will help you build a bootable CD from which you can boot your problem computer and perform a FULL offline scan, independent of your operating system. The programs defaults to a quick scan so after it completes, change the selection to Full Scan and run it again.
    Additionally test your system memory for errors.
    AND
    Check your system drive for errors.
     
  6. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will do some tests - another person I've talked to told me my Windows 7 disc could have possibly been corrupted so he told me to burn an ISO to a disc and use my key? Is this at all a possibility?
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I suppose anything is possible. It would be rare in the case of a retail or oem DVD but more likely if the source was an ISO and even more likely if the ISO was burned to disc using a burning speed above 4x (the slower the better).
    Having said that, I suspect that you might have noticed issues during the install if the media was corrupt but again anything is possible.
    Yes you should be able to obtain and ISO from here Download Windows 7 Integrated With SP1 ISO – Official Direct Download Links and use your product key when prompted.
    Have you double checked with your router manufacturer and made sure that there is not firmware update available for your particular device?
     
  8. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checking the Disk as we speak - Ran Memtest86+ for about 7 hours (9 passes), I've run it previously but no errors once again.

    I tried to burn a CD with that Microsoft Offline Tool dealio and at the "Processing File" area of the stages it gives me an error saying it was unable to download (I am using a different PC for this yes.)

    I'll post later when the Hard Drive check is done.
     
  9. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hard Drive check complete - no problems found whatsoever.
     
  10. kurteb

    kurteb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4
    i have used avast and norton, i currently use only microsoft security essentials and malwarebyte's antimalware. I would remove norton and avast to avoid program conflicts. mse runs great, it's microsoft antivirus for free :)
     
  11. kurteb

    kurteb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    TWo different computers, same network, similar errors...... check your router manufacturer for a firmware update and or try to swap out the router with a different one for testing (borrow one or pick one up at a store that has a liberal return policy in case it proves not to be an issue) I suspect that if it's not a software / firmware issue on the router than it may be something physical in the backplane or ICs.
     
  13. kurteb

    kurteb Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have CDBurnerXP installed, i found that it works just fine with Windows 7 :)
    i was wndering whether you were just having trouble with just this program, in other words,
    can you download pictures or other material ok otherwise?
     
    #13 kurteb, Aug 24, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2012
  14. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm never thought of it that way - Been having issues with ROKU connection as well so I will be replacing the router in a few days. Will keep you updated.
     
  15. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Thanks and yes please keep us updated. Hopefully we can work it out.
     
  16. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, now that I think of it - you might be right on this one - my macbook has had incredible trouble loading youtube videos the past few days...

    Hopefully it is! I don't want to get my hopes up though hahah
     
  17. Octose

    Octose New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downloaded every file on other PC's and received the same issue. It is indeed a network error that Comcast will be fixing soon, thank you all for the help and I will post back here once the issue is fully resolved.
     
  18. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    OK.... Good News..... Sort of.
    Keep us posted
    Randy
     

Share This Page

Loading...