Windows 7 Media player in toolbar

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by 03hdfatboy, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do I get media player to minimize into toolbar like Vista?
    I googled it but haven't found anything.
     
  2. PcBoyGeorge

    PcBoyGeorge Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thats just the button to launch it. They mean so it appears like vistas does. Like a little bar icon without having to use live preview to play and pause and such.
     
  3. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    In Vista you can right click on the taskbar click on toolbars and check windows media player and when you minimize it you can still control it with buttons on taskbar.

    Hope that clears things up.
     
  4. PcBoyGeorge

    PcBoyGeorge Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sigh people dont understand. They want it like vistas to work in 7. But the toolbar option isent in 7. It uses the live preview thing to play and pause. People want it like it was in vista. Like can it work in compatibility mode.
     
  5. dam89

    dam89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    8
    This may help you, although it envolves downgrading to mp11
     
  6. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I'll just leave well enough alone. :redface:
     
  7. dam89

    dam89 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah my thoughts exactly. :)
     
  8. TechSupport

    TechSupport New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    well 03hdfatboy, I do understand your request but there´s not much difference between sticking wmp to taskbar or using it as a toolbar like we used to. If you have it sticked you can still hoower over it to get the preview and "whoops" - there you find you controls.
     
  9. 03hdfatboy

    03hdfatboy Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I know..I already figured that out but I can't control it with my G15 keybord unless it is open. But it's OK I ended up uninstalling 7 for now... I keep getting BSOD.

    I'll be back....
     
  10. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    I'd love to recommend you TaskSwitchXP, a freeware task switcher with previews, and with a lot of customizations. It works with Aero on or off, and it lets you minimize any window to the taskbar area, with a hotkey or with the right mouse click. This is what it can look like:

    [​IMG]


    P.S. It works fine on XP, Vista, and 7, x86 or x64. It has a couple of small issues with x64 OS's, so you may want to replace its original exes with these x64 exe's.

    Hope you'll like it as much as I do. Good luck everyone. :)
     
  11. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    P.S.

    Please mind you should install and run it XP-compatible.
     

Share This Page

Loading...