Memory Gets Erased

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rac, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. rac

    rac New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, so I upgraded from vista to 7 but the upgrade was working very slow, so I went to do a complete fresh install. And, well, I wanted to keep the registries for some of my installed games because I either lost the install disc or the downloaded installer, and I copied them to another hard drive. Now after the reinstall, I added all the backed up registeries from my previous install(I know, incredibly dumb) to my new install, and well, I put my backed up games back in old folders, and they worked smoothly. But, for some reason, randomly after each night, all my history gets erased. I mean all, like all the browsers, I have IE, FF, and GC, and my windows history, like the recent items, get erased.
     
  2. Captain Jack

    Captain Jack Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    139
    Hello !!

    Have you scheduled some Tune up Programs like Tunes Up Utilities or CCleaner etc ?? That could be more likely the issue.

    - Captain
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,842
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi rac,
    check the setting I've highlighted just in case it's enabled..
     
  4. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    Are you using any tune up Programs like Tunes Up Utilities or CCleaner etc? If so there might be a setting in program that is deleting memory you need to find out that setting disable it so it doesn't delete memory.
     
  5. rac

    rac New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx for the help ill just try system restore.
     
  6. cgrim29588

    cgrim29588 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    4
    Not sure if System Restore will work or not, but it is worth a try let use know if it works!
     
  7. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    it almost sounds like the registry is write protected (is that possible??), in that the state changes back on reboot.
     
  8. rac

    rac New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have not system restore yet but is there a way to make it unprotected Highwayman? Because i don't want to re-download files or buy another comp. thx n advance
     

Share This Page

Loading...