Memory

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Firecracker, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. Firecracker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a notebook which is a HP Compaq Nx6325. It came with Windows XP and 1.5 GB ram. I put Windows 7 64 bit and up graded it to 3 GB few months ago. To day I tried to upgrade it to 4GB which is the maximum for my notebook. however it only sees uses 3GB still. the Bios and computer properties both see 4GB.
     
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    When you say Computer Properties does show 4 GB, does it also say something like "3 GB usable"?

    This is caused by the memory restrictions in the 32-bit Windows.. 1 GB of the RAM becomes dedicated to overhead functions.
    To be able to utilize all 4 GB, you'd have to switch to the 64-bit architecture of Windows 7.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  3. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    If your Windows 7 is indeed 64-bit and it's showing only 3 Gb, then look for bios upgrade.
     
  4. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    My mistake.. didn't look at the signature before I posted.

    You could also check in the BIOS to see if your video card is getting some of your system memory..
     
    #4 Mitchell_A, Oct 22, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2010
  5. Firecracker

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    4
    that signature is for my gaming computer not my notebook. So it won't help you my friend. :)
     
  6. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    ;)

    Have you checked for the latest bios revisions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...