Microsoft anti-virus utility

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by kemical, Jun 11, 2009.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,795
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  2. village idiot

    village idiot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wonder what the other VS makers think of this?
     
  3. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    I might use it.... Along with secue spot. If they can work together. I'm getting tired of paying for things. Welcome Down Under!!!
     
  4. village idiot

    village idiot New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    You pay for it, avast does a free version, voted best free version on the net I read in one publication. Been using avast for a number of years.

    What ever you do, dont go to a retail shop an pay $120 aud for it:eek:
     
  5. lorenkjr1

    lorenkjr1 Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    11
    While I was shocked that I got to download it, the big surprise is even better. No issues with it. Small footprint and real simple to use. And from what I gather Microsoft collects data from your computer so no need to do anything. Well that part may not sit well but, thats the way they are doing it. Oh yes one more thing. Don't want it active, nice try. At least the only way I see to make it inactive is to uninstall it. Well thats another thing that might not be a big hit with it. More later.
     
  6. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
    Don't worry about it, I get a real deal because I D-Link with DSL Extreme. My computer came with Symantec because HP is also a security paranoid. (You know one time I actually got a message that my computer was going to eject the core because I took my security password off). No telling how the machine is going to react once it is liberated from Norton. Strangely, I might miss all those warnings and spinning lights.
     

Share This Page

Loading...