Missing Icons

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by rjk, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. rjk

    rjk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lately when my windows 7 starts up my icons are missing on desktop and i have to go to properties and click View-->Show desktop icons.
    again this has only happened recently, but is everytime i start my computer. I dont know if this is caused by an update or what, is there a
    way to correct this to where i dont have to recheck Show destop icons.
    thank you
     
  2. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    Which "Propertes" are you selecting? - I'm a bit lost there.
    But maybe this is what you are seeking.
    Right click the desktop - Personalize.
    Over in the right side window - Change desktop icons.
    Make sure you have those you need ticked.
     
  3. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    I fixed a similar problem by creating a new account and copying everything over to the new account. The icons came back and stayed when I logged into the new account.
     
  4. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    RAK, I think RJK is refering to right click desktop>view>show desktop icons.
    If I'm reading his post correctly he is saying that everytime he boots his desktop icons are hidden
    and he has to click show desktop icons everytime.
    Try busydog's suggestion, though it would be nice to know why your present profile is misbehaving.
     
  5. rjk

    rjk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    First off thanks for the quick responses guys, fjgold is correct in the problem i'm having and what i have to do to correct it each time i boot.
    i followed RAK's suggestion and made sure the boxes were checked. Not entirely sure how to copy my settings to a new account as busydog
    has suggested, the only account i have is the default admin account. This is an upgrade from Vista. Again thanks guys for your assistance.
     
  6. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Create another administrator account in control panel. In windows explorer open both accounts (separate windows) and copy users/account#1 to users/account#2 (all sub folders). That simple! Then select the account#2 at boot.
     
    rjk and (deleted member) like this.
  7. rjk

    rjk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Busydog's suggestion seem's to have done the trick, made the second account and logged on to it several times and icons are showing up each time. Thanks again
     
  8. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    If you mean by this statement that you performed an in place upgrade then
    that could have been the cause of your problem.
    It is generally recommended here that a "clean install" is preferred over an in place upgrade to prevent
    weird behavior like this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...