MMC could not create the snap-in.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Josh123, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. Josh123

    Josh123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to access our Active Directory Users and Computers using the 2003 Server Tool Kit but it says: MMC could not create the snap-in.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. leon.mong

    leon.mong New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes,i have this problem too and i have tried to register dll file as same as Vista.but still not successful.
     
  3. jdmccarthy

    jdmccarthy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here , tried various solutions from the Vista issue. I suspect the Dot net might have something to do with it.
     
  4. Blastfire

    Blastfire New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trouble and (deleted member) like this.
  5. Josh123

    Josh123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    But how do you manage active directory?
     
  6. jdmccarthy

    jdmccarthy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the tools but have no AD Console. Has anyone maged to make this work?

    :( Ok , my bad! You have to turn it on in your windows features list. Still gives me error though!
     
    #6 jdmccarthy, Feb 24, 2009
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2009
  7. Josh123

    Josh123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, mine is working now. I thought I selected everything from the features list but it didn't.
     
  8. jdmccarthy

    jdmccarthy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having some issues with the exchange management portion. Any ideas?
     
  9. Pat G

    Pat G New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which feature(s) did you have to install?
     
  10. jtran

    jtran New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found all the tools under program and features in Control Panel. You click on Turn Windows features on or off and look for Remote server administration tools. you can enable what you like from there.
     
  11. smurga

    smurga New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    Here is the answer!! :)

    I hope this will help you. I saw this thread and it got me close to the answer. I poked around until I tried this:

    • go to "Turn Windows features on or off"
    • expand "Role Administration Tools"
    • expand "AD DS and AD LDS Tools"
    • make sure all are selected (including the expanded "AD DS Tools"
    That is what allowed me to manage AD from my workstation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...