Moving existing HDD with 7 onto a new MoBo

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by paulhewett, Nov 22, 2009.

  1. paulhewett

    paulhewett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to move my existing HHD from a Dell with windows 7 on it to my new MoBo Nvidia 680i.
    Every thing fires up can see everything but windows fails to start, the startup repair utility tries to repair it but to no avail.
    I have used a startup recovery dvd and pointed it at the drivers but they will not load.
    Any suggestions welcome!


    Many thanks ,

    Paul
     
  2. SIW2

    SIW2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi Paul,

    When you installed on your fist set of Hardware, Windows installed the drivers for that hardware.

    Now you have the HD attached to different hardware ( the mobo) you can't boot.

    When you do manage to boot, you will need to reactivate windows - I assume you have a product key which allows that?

    If not, ring the free activation hotline and tell them your mobo died and you had to replace it .

    They will almost certainly give you a new key.

    First problem - get it to boot. Paragon does a great piece of software called Adaptive restore which will do that for you.

    Can you attach the HD to another pc - so you can run the Adaptive Restore on it?

    It only takes a couple of seconds. Then put the HD back in the machine with the new mobo - it will boot up., loading the drivers as it does.

    You can get it free from here free reg key :

    http://www.paragon-software.com/registration/vms.html

    - just click the download link - :

    http://www.paragon-software.com/business/vm/download.html
     
    #2 SIW2, Nov 22, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  3. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    When you change your motherboard it's like moving your hard drive to a totally different computer. A lot of new hardware, new drivers...etc.

    You mayb be able to eventually fix it but it will run MUCH better if you backup and do a clean install.
    You would be better off getting a new hard drive... a two tb drive is now just $115 .. about 5 cents per gb.

    Install to a new hard drive.. then you can easily pull off the stuff you want from the old one then eventually format it and use it as a clone/backup drive. You won't regret doing that.
     
  4. paulhewett

    paulhewett New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the swift replies.
    I will try the software solution but I think in time it will be a new HDD.

    Thanks again,

    Paul
     

Share This Page

Loading...