My Laptop keeps shutting down every 2 hours

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by takist, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. takist

    takist New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed Windows 7 and i find them very practical and amazing. However i face a very strange problem which worries me too much. After the proper installation of Windows 7 and the drivers of my laptop i decided to activate the product key i was given when i downladed Windows 7 RC from microsoft's webpage. The activation was succesfull but the next day my computer started to shut down every 2 hours and keeps doing this every now and again. Is there anything i can do for this problem?

    Regards
     
  2. carol_s

    carol_s New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    26
    Check your system date - make sure it is July 2009 and not July 2010.
     
  3. itzmee

    itzmee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Windows 7 shuts also down every 2 hours already now

    Hi All,

    I am not an expert, so excuse my question. I have downloaded and installed Windows7 RC build 7100 to upgrade from Beta. 3 days ago it started shutting down every two hours as if it were beta. Have registered a new product key for my RC which was accepted. But still same, same. Any help?
     
  4. Lemuelmedia

    Lemuelmedia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    A clean installation

    I did a clean installation of windows 7 on my laptop, activated it , all my hardware are working fine and I retore all my programmes and files. I never experienced any shuting down. I connected to the net and ran the windows update. Its just like using a final edition. so smooth, soft, glossy and the best windows ever.
     
  5. digitalexplr

    digitalexplr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you do a clean install of RC or install over the Beta? If not a clean install that could be your problem.
     
  6. itzmee

    itzmee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply/advice. I did install it over the Beta, simply because it was offered as an option without mentioning that this would influence the time until shutdown. That would also make no sense.
    I guess I will have to format the harddrive and make a fresh clean install, or is there any other way, without formatting first? Simply run a new install from the dvd with the ISO image did not work.
     
  7. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Another Thought

    Check your power settings. Your laptop may be going to sleep on a two hour basis. I seen some laptops go to sleep and not be "wakeable" without a reboot. I set my laptop to never go to sleep but to close the video after a period of time.:rolleyes:
     
  8. digitalexplr

    digitalexplr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Going into sleep mode could be what is happening as well. Make sure you have checked when that is happening, as I think 2 hours is the default time frame.

    I have found sleep mode with Win7 64 works very well on my Dell XPS 1530. I have it set for 5 hours. It goes to sleep and wakes up flawlessly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...