Need help involving some components.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Lakenz, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. Lakenz

    Lakenz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, a little newbie help for me, I wanted to buy some RAM for this motherboard:

    ECS A770m-a

    http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Products/ProductsDetail.aspx
    ?detailid=844&CategoryID=1&DetailName=Specification&a
    mp;MenuID=1&LanID=0

    (copy paste the link, it doesn't seem to work otherwise sorry.)

    And I found this:

    Adata 2GB DDR2 800MHz Desktop RAM - Buy Adata 2GB DDR2 800MHz Desktop RAM at Mighty Ape

    is that supported on the motherboard?

    Sorry if I did not set the links up to win7forums standard, as I am a newbie.

    Thanks.
     
    #1 Lakenz, Jan 1, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2010
  2. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Try this for the best price http://www.crucial.com/search/searchresults.aspx?keywords=ECS%20A770m-a
     
  3. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Also, check in at your local tech shop as they may have the BEST price for you.
     
  4. Lakenz

    Lakenz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, sorry if i didn't mention this. I live in New Zealand and $120 NZ dollars is the same as $88 US dollars. But that all aside, does that RAM I have in that link, work with that motherboard?
     
  5. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    I put in your motherboard make/model to get to that link. Go to www.crucial.com and let it do a scan to confirm that the correct ram has been identified. I have had great success with low prices from crucial.
     
  6. Lakenz

    Lakenz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except, NZ is at the other side of the world, I would just like to know if the RAM I posted in the link would work?
     
  7. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Crucial says DDR2-800 and that is what your link says so go for it.
     
  8. Lakenz

    Lakenz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot man, im just wondering something though, for future use. If the motherboard says it can run up to ddr2 800, does that mean it can run every single desktop ddr2 Ram up to 800 mhz? because as im a noob, Theres all theres little extra words on the RAM like unbuffered etc.
     
  9. busydog

    busydog New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    31
    Crucial says unbuffered so I would stick with that. You can also use ddr2 667 but that would result in a sacrifice in performance. If you mix 667 and 800 you will run at the lower of the two speeds. It isn't clear whether your Adata RAM is buffered or unbuffered. You might want to check. I would trust Crucial's choice of unbuffered.
     
  10. Lakenz

    Lakenz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...