Network view showing 2 of every computer on network

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by taweekly, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. taweekly

    taweekly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 4 computers on my home network:
    WHS - My Windows Home Server
    MediaCenter-PC - My HTPC
    Bomber - My notebook
    AnnMarie - My girlfriends Desktop

    With the exception of the WHS all are windows 7. Everything seems to be working alright, but when I open the network view on my notebook it show 2 of every computer on the network. Only one of each is accessible. This just started 3 days ago. Can't figure it out? Hope someone hear can help.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Try clearing the netbios cache and see if they disappear. Command prompt type nbtstat -R
     
  3. taweekly

    taweekly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Trouble,
    I did that and they all went away except the WHS, it is still showing 2 of them in network view, only one of them is accessible. I ran it on all computers. Any thing else to look at. I ran virus scan on all computers also found nothing.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    This type of information is produced by Netbios (sort of a poor man's version of having a WINS server running) Netbios stores information associating computer names with IP address, so typically when you see multiples, it would indicate that you may have multiple network adapters active on the same machine on the same network and Netbios is simply doing its' job. You can examine the netbios cache on any machine by typing nbtstat -c and it will tell you which machine name is associated with which IP address.
     
  5. taweekly

    taweekly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, and now it is happeng on all my machines. Under network connections all coputers are seing 2 WHS
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Although I will admit, my experience with WHS is limited, I have installed, integrated and supported all other versions of Windows Servers since NT4.0 up to and including Windows Server 2008 r2, the lates release, so as I stated earlier, does the WHS box have multiple NICs, please pick one of the machines that is showing multiples and from an elevated command prompt please type nbtstat -c and examine the information in the netbios cache it should be relatively straight forward and list an individual IP and it's associated netbios name, if you can please post the information in your next post and maybe I can better understand the nature of the issue.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  8. taweekly

    taweekly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got it fixed, Had to reset my belkin g router Firewall settings. And the network connections are showing up correctly.
     
  9. taweekly

    taweekly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trouble thanks for your help.
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Excellent. Glad you figured it out and thanks so much for posting back with your resolution
     
  11. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Thanks for replying back. Maybe it will help somebody else on the future.
    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...