New build, fresh win 7 install in just freezes after about 20 seconds of install

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by tyson679, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. tyson679

    tyson679 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, first off I want to say everyone here rocks. I just got done puting together a new computer and turned it on. It seems to post fine other then it saying no drives found. then the dvd kicks in and starts loading windows. it loads for about 20 seconds, then goes to starting windows it has the 4 colors lighting up above loading windows then everything just freezes the colors stop moving and it just sits there frozen. I have let it sit for an hour. I have tried lots of stuff here are the computer specs below. and some of the stuff I have done.

    Antec twelve hundred case
    I7 920
    Ausus P6T Motherboard
    Master cooler V8 CPU cooler. antec silver thermal paste put on.
    12 gigs of OCZ DDR3 1600 ( all installed )
    Antec 950w power supply
    Nvidia GTX 950 coop
    WD green 1 TB HD.
    Hitachi dvd-rw drive

    Their is no speaker on the antec case so I cant hear the beeps, but everything seems to post fine?


    I put in 3 sticks of ram ( tripple channel ) instead of the 6 sticks I had before
    tried a different HD, and even formatted it on a different computer
    swapped out the optical drive dvd with one I know works
    unplugged everything from the Mother board that I didnt need right away
    all power connectors are installed properly
    put in the voltage and timing of the ram manually
    have it booting from dvd first
    unpluged my usb keyboard ( this time it let me get further but then still freezes half way through install, and I let sit there for hours and still frozen )
     
  2. tyson679

    tyson679 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is Win 7 home premium 64 bit by the way. thanks.
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Try tapping Alt-Ctl-Del and see if Task Manage pops up.if so,choose New >Task, and type in explorer.exe.
     
  4. tyson679

    tyson679 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    will that work if windows has not been installed yet?
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    But you said it was almost installed Could you tell me last screen you saw>
     
  6. tyson679

    tyson679 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    was the screen where it shows check marks on the left, it says unpacking files, then under that it says installing files, and so forth. their is a progress bar at the bottom of the bottom of the screen.
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Oh,thats only the first stage of install

    I would remove at least 4 GB of RAM ,make sure every USB device unplugged

    In other words,this is first OS being installed the compute after building it,,correct?

    Try that for now, ,do you have a 32-biy version a well?
     

Share This Page

Loading...