new graphics card.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Graphics' started by emmittgator, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. emmittgator

    emmittgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    snip.PNG as u can see from the pic here i had a 6150se integrated. and bought a 8400 GS. I disabled the old graphics card, plugged in the new one, then proceeded to download the latest drivers for windows 7 64 bit off the website. But i dont really notice any performance boost when i go to play games. still same settings as before and still lag like before. im convinced that i didnt install something right. or is it something else.
     
  2. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    Did you completely uninstall the old drivers before installing the new ones? I recommend using driver sweeper after uninstalling the old drivers.
     
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Please post your complete machine spec'.
     
  4. degal

    degal New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    GeForce 8400Gs is a good video card, but it won't give you significant boost FPS-wise. You need a faster chip if you need good FPS rate at high resolutions.

    e.g. Gf 9800 GTX x2, GTX 2xx
    ATI 48xx, 5xxx

    CPU frequency is important too. 2.4 Ghz +

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Giving your CPU and Ram information could tell us more.
     
  6. emmittgator

    emmittgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did uninstall the old drivers of the old video card first. but i was 1.PNG wondering if i couldnt use em both at the same time?
    also got some pics here of all my basic cpu info. thx for the help. 2.PNG
     
  7. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    That could cause some serious conflicts.

    What games are you trying to get better performance out of?

    BTW, that's the same pc my dad just bought. The only drawback is the 300w power supply, which limits what graphics card you can use. I believe the 8400 does require a 300w power supply, so your good there.
     
  8. emmittgator

    emmittgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    been playin age of empires 3 and world of warcraft. and soon to be kotor = P
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    If I was you I'd do a clean install. I always do this when fitting new hardware. That way you don't have to worry about old driver conflicts and can start with a level playing field.
     
  10. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    You shouldn't have any problems playing those games with your setup.
     
  11. emmittgator

    emmittgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thanks for the info. also when i uninstall the drivers for the old graphics card, windows updates tried to put em back on there.
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,788
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    You can stop that easily by changing your settings to the ones shown in the screenshot..

    View attachment 5230
     
  13. emmittgator

    emmittgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thx guys, graphics card seems to be working better, now i just need a better internet connection i have the linksys wireless adaptor wpn111. but its just not fast enough, but only one at best buy that supported windows 7 = /
     
  14. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    This is exactly what I do and recommend it too.
     

Share This Page

Loading...