new m/board

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by wullthebull, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. wullthebull

    wullthebull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put a new m/board in my pc and the board lights up and hdd lights stays on but no post ? it just stays that way it is a 1 Gigabyte SKT-1366 GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard (Rev 1.0) any clues to whats happening
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    268
    Disconnect all devices except the cpu and RAM. Check that out then add devices one at a time.
     
    #2 patcooke, Jan 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  3. wullthebull

    wullthebull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok will do that when new replacement one comes as I have sent this one back as faulty
     
  4. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    A common mistake when changing motherboards is not ensuring you have the correct placement of case standoffs under the boards. Cases are designed to support 1000s of motherboards so there typically are more mounting points in the case than there are on the motherboard. Any extra standoffs in the case will short-out the motherboard (sometimes permanently damaging the board and everything connected to it) and give the symptoms you described.
     
  5. wullthebull

    wullthebull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    no m/board has 9 holes and new one has same these 2 m/boards are both 1366 and the new ones holes matches old one
     
  6. Digerati

    Digerati Fantastic Member
    Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    159
    It is not just the number of holes, but their location.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Make sure you are plugging in both the ATX power connectors, 24 and 8 pin...
     
  8. wullthebull

    wullthebull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    both connecters are ok 24&8 pin holes match the standoffs on m/board as the screw holes on m/board have little metal segments
    whats annoying me is the graphics card was connected by hdmi cable should it be connected by sub
     
    #8 wullthebull, Jan 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...