"No Audio Device Installed"/"No speakers plugged in"

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Reciever80, Nov 1, 2009.

  1. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, new to the forums, I'm Reciever80.


    Recently Installed Windows 7. It took me about 14 hours to configure to all my hardware, and now i have one problem left.


    The sound doesn't play at all from my computer, and I've looked around on the interent; figured i'd post my question here.

    I have the speaker symbol in the bottom right of my screen, with a red circle and a white x inside of it. I put my mouse over it, and it says "no audio output device is enabled". I have the soundcard/on board soundcard that came with my Dell Optiplex 320 minitower, and i can't seem to find out how to fix it.

    I have windows 7 32 bit ultimate, and when i was using XP, the sound was listed as something like "SoundMAX HD Audio"

    The only device/hardware under "Sound, video, and game controllers" is "High Definition Audio Device".

    I right clicked the sound symbol on my taskbar, and go to "Playback devices", and under it is a "Digitial Audio (HDMI)" Which i'm positive i don't have in/on my computer.

    I've tried looking at that windows 7 driver list for speakers that is a sticky, and can't figure out if mine is up there.

    help please?

    And I have speakers attached to my monitor plugged in, BTW.
     
    #1 Reciever80, Nov 1, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2009
  2. ihatesushi

    ihatesushi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same problem and have not yet found a solution in over 4 hours of looking on the internet. I am debating about going back to XP and getting my money back for Windows 7. What good is a computer without sound. I am a media developer for goodness sake! It's always something with these dumb pc's
     
  3. ihatesushi

    ihatesushi New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great job sushi, thanks for posting that. I had fixed it a while back, however i thought this thread was dead and had no need to post it. But that looks extremely familiar so maybe that's what i did. But hey, this guy PM'd me asking for help to this problem. And since i don't have 6 posts i cant PM him back. His name is... "Ineedhelp" if you could PM him (or if someone else could) that would be great...thanks!

    Reciever80
     
  5. zombiemoses

    zombiemoses New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same problem. I've tried ihatesushi's solution but it didn't work for me. Can you remember what steps you took?
     
  6. cooked

    cooked New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey. After having a computer that worked, suddenly, and at the same time only intermittently, (which is worse) I get the same messages. Drivers are up to date. I may well go back to Linux..
     
  7. Reciever80

    Reciever80 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    There were either two things.

    One-I kept switching between 32bit and 64bit PC, and i'm on a 32 bit PC, so maybe that could be it?

    Two-Find a sound driver for Vista (or xp) and take the steps that sushi took. I"m sorry for those who aren't solving this problem, hopefully you can figure it out :/ There's not much else i can do.
     

Share This Page

Loading...