No folder visible during "Save as" or "Browse for"

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by NochLess, Feb 4, 2010.

  1. NochLess

    NochLess New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running Win7 (x64)

    As stated my problem is that when I am trying to "Save As" or "Browse for" something - I have no folders on the left hand side - as one normally does.
    In the first pic I'm trying to save as - using Firefox (it is the same with IE)

    theproblem.

    Same thing in MS Word:

    word.
    The really weird thing is that sometimes it works - like the upload pic feature here works just like normal..

    If anybody has any helpful hints or solutions it would be greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks in advance
    -M-
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Do the folders show up ok if you start Windows Explorer from the taskbar?

    If you try twice in a row, does it work better?
     
  3. NochLess

    NochLess New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, they show up when starting from taskbar, Win+E and My Comp...

    No, same problem...

    :(
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, a couple of more questions and then I will be doing more research.

    If you right click in the navigation pane, do you get a context menu?

    Have you run any third party software that might be related to the file system?

    Have you tried closing and reopening the Navigation pane?

    Have you moved any folders or libraries from their normal locations?
     
  5. NochLess

    NochLess New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. No
    2. Not that I know of - at least not in any time near when the problem occurred
    3. Not sure what you mean.. Do you mean tried pressing "Show / Hide folders"? - if yes - yes I hav; no result
    4. Again, no not that I know of (at least not since installing W7)

    Thank you for helping :)
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    What I meant was to open and close the Navigation pane under the layout option.

    I have been unable to find anything concerning your problem, so maybe someone else will know.

    Until then, all I might suggest is to first, open an administrative command window and type:
    sfc /scannow

    Maybe this will find something that has been corrupted. If that doesn't help, then the only other option I could recommend is a repair install where you basically do an inplace upgrade to your current Win 7 install. This will keep your programs and settings and hopefully restore whatever has become corrupted. If you have questions about this, post back.
     
  7. NochLess

    NochLess New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    It's amazing - after I ran the sfc /scannow I got a message saying that it had found and repaired some corrupted files, and that I should see CBS.log for detailed info...
    And now it works! Thanks a million!

    But when trying to open the CBS.log file - I get a no access error... Any thoughts? Would be interesting to see what the problem was...

    But anyway, thank you thank you thank you :p
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Glad it works..

    To read the log, copy it to the desktop and open from there.
     
  9. SkyShark

    SkyShark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    This will fix the issue in Windows 7

    Copy and paste into notepad and save it as a .reg file, then run it.
    ----------------------------------------------------
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\CIDSave\Modules\GlobalSettings\Sizer]
    "CommonItemDialogSizer"=hex:64,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,94,01,00,00
     

Share This Page

Loading...