No Hard Drive Found, Just Installed It?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Tim needs help, Sep 9, 2010.

  1. Tim needs help

    Tim needs help New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I just added a new hard drive to replace the old one that is apparently corrupted. And I'm not sure what I did wrong. I was told to unplug the power supply and the old hd. Add the new one, and power it back up with the Windows 7 installation dvd. Did that and in trying to change the order in witch it boots to cd-rom, it shows sata hd not present? I don't know why, I replaced the cords in the right place. Do I need to configure it, if so how? Please and thank you.
     
  2. Tim needs help

    Tim needs help New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is regornized in the drive section, Drive 0 Sata-0 (Has my new drive details )
    Drive 1
    Drive 2 sata 0 cd- rom
    Drive 3

    But in boot sequence in does not see it??? Please help.
     
  3. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Set the drive section to 2, then set the first boot device to SATA. Save and reboot. Press any key when it tells you to.
     
  4. Tim needs help

    Tim needs help New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I set the drive section to 2 sorry?
     
  5. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    All motherboards have a wide variety of BIOS. You'd have to check your motherboard manual online or the physical copy, to see how to set it correctly.
     
  6. Tim needs help

    Tim needs help New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see what you mean where my master drive is, the cd-rom is in that section. But everything was working fine with the old drive, let alone there was a disc read error. Which is why I got a new one. I don't know where to begin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...