No Internet Connection - Wired

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by jrdonnaruma, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. jrdonnaruma

    jrdonnaruma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, so I just did a fresh install of Windows 7 build 7086 x64. Everything works just find, except my network adapters. I'll detail system specs after I explain the problem.

    When i connect one of my cables, the computer attempts to identify the network. It doesnt. I check IPconfig, and it gets all DHCP information from my Linksys router, but no internet connection. I have IPv6 turned off on both adapters, as well as the VMnet adapters i use for VMware Workstation.

    I attempt to ping google.com and it comes back, ping request could not find host
    I attempt to ping the router, and says host unreachable.

    (IPconfig data - Local Area Connection 2) (Local Area Connection 1 shows up the same with IPv4 Address 192.168.1.102)
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix : oxfordnetworks.net
    IPv4 Address : 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway : 192.168.1.1

    The Gateway itself sees the Win 7 computer, but when i ping from the router to 192.168.1.103, it times out.

    Also, I attempted to update the network drivers using the Intel Pro v14 Vista x64 drivers, and the installer wouldnt let me install the drivers because of "software not built for your operating system"

    System Specs:
    Supermicro X8SAX x58 motherboard
    core i7 920
    ATI 4890 (XFX Extreme Edition)
    6gb 3x2gb 1333 Corsair XMS
    WD64000AAKS 640 GB Western Digital HDD
    2x LG SuperMulti DVD burners

    Everything EXCEPT the network is working flawlessly on this sytem
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Have you put in the mac address for the router?

    If not, work through the Control Panel - Network and Sharing centre - Set up a new connection.Have your mac number ready.
     
  3. jrdonnaruma

    jrdonnaruma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to do that right now, and my router isn't showing up. I go to - Network and Sharing Center -> Setup a Connection or Network, Set up a new network, and nothing shows up. I left it for about 5 minutes, and nothing showed up.
     
  4. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,721
    Likes Received:
    381
    Just a thought but have you checked your hardware for faults ?
     
  5. jrdonnaruma

    jrdonnaruma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was one of the first things I checked. The adapters and chipset work just fine with Vista x64, x32, Windows XP, Xp x64, Fedora Core 11, Ubuntu 9.04, Ubuntu 8.04, (Mainboard doesnt support 8.10, dumps to initramfs every time i try to boot.. really annoying) I currently have 4 partitions on this system, Windows X9 x64, Windows Vista x64, Ubuntu 9.04, and was trying to get Win7 on the fourth, and this issue keeps popping up.
     
  6. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi jrdonnaruma,
    I was watching this thread from the side line as you were getting expert help and did not want to disturb the flow of communication by interjecting unnecessarily. Since no one is following this for a while I thought I will add my 2¢. :)

    Just to be on the same wave length, may I ask a few questions to clarify points discussed so far first by letting you know what I understood giving you a chance to correct if I am wrong.

    • At present your newly installed Win 7 system ( let us call it Supermicro) in a multiboot environment is unable to connect to the Internet through a Wired Broadband Router and Broadband Modem.
    • Supermicro is unable to have LAN connection to other networked PC (PCs)
    • You have verified the Device Manager and there are no errors anywhere and especially the Network dapter is seen listed and its Properties > "This device is working properly"
    If the above are true,
    1. Do you have a DSL or Cable Modem?
    2. Are the other PCs in the Network able to connect to the Internet using the same Router and Modem after the Win 7 was installed in this Supermicro PC?
    3. If there are 2 or more other PCs in the network, can they see each other in their Network Places > View workgroup computer /Samba > Windows Workgroup > Workgroup as used to be before?
    4. Did Win 7 automatically install the Network adapter driver or you had to install the driver after Win 7 setup?
    5. If you had installed , did you use the MoBo CD or make a fresh download of Win Vista X64 driver for your LAN from Supermicro download site? Super Micro Computer, Inc. | Support | Resources
    6. Did you install the latest Chipset driver in the above method?
    7. Have you any time during the present troubleshoot try to connect Supermicro to the Modem without Router to access the Internet? f so were you able to connect?
    8. Just at the same time as the SuperMicro win7's was made, had you changed the Router or was that an existing router
    9. Any oher information you think you might have missed to give in the Networking area such as 3rd party Firewalls like Norton /MCafee etc.
    10. I shall wait for your responses if you decide to take my help.
    Good luck
     
    #6 cmn, Apr 27, 2009
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2009
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Try removing the security from the router. It has been giving unexplainable problems with windows 7. You can also disable the windows 7 firewall.
     
  8. jrdonnaruma

    jrdonnaruma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Answers In Italics,
    Also, I dont use security on the router, I'm in an area where I don't need it, because the closest house is a quarter mile away, and I monitor the network to see who is connected to it, just incase.
     
  9. cmn

    cmn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    45
    Thank you for your responses and I look forward to your successful Internet and LAN connection message after you finish your troubleshoot. Please post in detail so others can use your successful method as a general roadmap when they find themselves lost in networking wilderness:). If you need any help there are some of us following this thread ready to help.
     
    whoosh and (deleted member) like this.
  10. TheDigitalJedi

    TheDigitalJedi New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you installed office updates or Microsoft updates on your PC?
     

Share This Page

Loading...