no secondary hdd

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by omnivious, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. omnivious

    omnivious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    my device manager says my secondary drive is attached and working properly but I can't seem to access it, is there something I'm missing or is it one of those things that hasn't been fixed yet, I just built a new system with a 64gb ssd and a 1tb hdd and ssd is reading wonderfully but not enough space on it for all my stuff... Thanks in advance for your answer!
     
  2. loathe

    loathe New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    66
    Did you format the 1TB drive? They dont come formated when you buy them new.
    Right click Computer and click manage. Then click disk management on the side there. Right click the unallocated space and choose new simple volume. Format it in NTFS and make sure you give it a drive letter other than C.
     
  3. omnivious

    omnivious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would if it would let be but it doesn't give me an option to do so, it only give me the option to convert to dynamic disk or gpt and offline and property...
     
  4. eph3x

    eph3x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a storage controller active in there? If you do you might re-install the drivers for it. I had some issues getting the drivers loaded for my Marvell storage controller- loaded on them on a usb during windows y x64 install but had to re-install them after windows finished installing.
     
  5. omnivious

    omnivious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't even install the driver because it's not compatible with win7 x64
     
  6. eph3x

    eph3x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the computer manufacturer? They might offer x64 and x86 versions of the drivers on their website.
     
  7. omnivious

    omnivious New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    the computer is a home built, if I take the primary drive off and start it, that should make it primary and load windows onto it right?
     
  8. eph3x

    eph3x New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure. Which is the primary- the 64 gb ssd or 1 tb hdd? More system info would help, ie HDD and storage controller type, RAM etc. But you may try taking the primary off and load windows onto whichever isnt showing up. If it is a driver issue, however, you won't see any disc at all duing windows setup and your only option will be to load a driver from flash drive.
     

Share This Page

Loading...