No sound from External speakers (have sound from internal speaker)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by pRey, May 15, 2009.

  1. pRey

    pRey New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have them plugged in same as usual.
    They worked before.
    I can bring the cord around to the front headphone jack and they work.

    Realtek
     
  2. MayPLaY56

    MayPLaY56 New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your driver has set by default your internal speaker as main peripheral.
    And the reason why when you plug it to the front jack it does work, it's because it has priority over the jack behind (all drivers, or most of them work that way).
    To do this you got to go in your Audio advanced settings, and change the peripheral by default to your external speak, you must know its name to choose the good one.

    Good Luck
     
  3. pRey

    pRey New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks,

    Does anyone know where in Windows 7, I can find what I need to change?
     
  4. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try under Sounds in the Control Panel. Might have to poke around a bit, I'm not sure exactly where it would be in there.
     
  5. Cookie Jar

    Cookie Jar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same problem as well, exept i get sound in my external speakers as well as my internal ones. I know it is not the hardware since sound works fine on windows xp. i am using the built in sound card of my motherboard. and i am using the Realtek AC'97 Audio Driver
     
  6. Zens

    Zens Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have the same issue, even after changing the default to the speakers there's still no sound, also have tried headphones and still no sound, I can see the level bars lighting up though. very frustrating .
     
    #6 Zens, Apr 28, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
  7. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    are you downloading the gwx app by any chance?
     
  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    360
    • Right click on the sound icon and select "Playback Devices" (1)
    • Playback tab (2)
    • Make sure you have the correct device as your default device (3) the external speakers / realtek
    • If it's not set correctly, right click the correct device and select "Default Device"
    sound.
     
  9. Zens

    Zens Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I have tried all that. I should mention that the sound from the external devices disappeared after fresh Win 8.1 re-install, before that it was fine.
     
  10. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,389
    Likes Received:
    360
    But do you have the correct driver installed? Also if you have multiple devices in the playback section try the others set to default as you may have the wrong device selected.
     
    holdum333 likes this.
  11. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    A whole bunch of issues and different members, so I'm going to give a general reply to all! When you have a problem,it's best to start your own thread and not Hi-Jack another members thread.;):)
    No sound in Windows - Windows Help
    Sorry @Neemobeer didn't see you logged in.
     
    BIGBEARJEDI likes this.
  12. Zens

    Zens Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    update; maybe it will help someone with the same issue,

    Installing Cirrus logic driver solved my no sound problem, :bee:
     
  13. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    214
    Hi holdum,

    Very nice POST #11, on the Microsoft Sound problem troubleshooter.:ohyea: I've seen pieces of this one before, but not the whole thing including the Sound Troubleshooter applet.

    I've bookmarked into my Favorites for future reference (and "lazy-link" posts!).

    BBJ :tongue_smile:
     
  14. holdum333

    holdum333 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    147
    @BIGBEARJEDI Thanks for your reply friend!! Yes I'm a little lazy on my replies some times. Seems like I can always find someone on the web that explains things much better than I can. I thought the sound link covered it all.;):)
    I guess you could call me a lazy Google Tech. If you've had a problem, it's almost 100% sure that someone else has had the problem, and you can find some thing on Google:rofl:Hey Marc click on my Google signature!:rofl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...