No Taskbar - need help

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by DFFord, Jun 7, 2009.

  1. DFFord

    DFFord Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Just installed Windows 7 on a dell XPS 420 over Windows home premium 64 bit.

    When I click my user name and password I get a black screen with no taskbaror start menu. It only shows the build version in the lower r/h corner of the screen. I created a new user in safe mode and restarted same problem except screen was powder ble background. How do I get a start menu?
    I do get taskbar and start menu in safe mode.
     
    #1 DFFord, Jun 7, 2009
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2009
  2. Remiiversen

    Remiiversen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re:

    Hmm...
    I think I might have the same problem.
    Are The screen todaly black after login, and u only can see: Windows 7 Evaluation copy, Build 7100 in the right corner?
    And Are you able to play games by going Via task manager?

    Wil be looking for Answares
     
  3. DFFord

    DFFord Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am able to launch programs via task manager. I did an uninstall and went back to Vista 64bit
     
  4. adduncan

    adduncan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    might be worth doing a completely new install, rather than using the upgrade option

    format the hard drive, then load the RC1 on to the empty hard drive
     
  5. rsvr85

    rsvr85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    I agree with you adduncan.

    Trying to upgrading Vista to W7 isn't really desirable.
     
  6. DFFord

    DFFord Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will re-try`

    I am going to try a dual boot install. Will let you know how it turns out.

    Thanks for replies.
     
  7. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Some guys reported that this effect occurs when they have connected their screen twice: Once via VGA and second via HDMI. So Windows think there are two screens and switch to dual display view. And you see only the second screen without the taskbar. Try this:

    Win+Shift+left arrow = Move current window to the left monitor (with dual monitors)
    Win+Shift+right arrow = Move current window to the right monitor (with dual monitors)
    Win+P = External display options

    Or disconnect one cable - VGA or HDMI.
     
    rsvr85 and (deleted member) like this.
  8. DFFord

    DFFord Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Reinstall successful

    I was able to do a dual boot install after reinstall of Vista. All is working great.

    Thanks to all for your suggestions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...